Author Topic: Forcing VBRUN300.DLL registration in Windows 10  (Read 882 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Forcing VBRUN300.DLL registration in Windows 10
« on: March 18, 2020, 11:05:27 AM »
I have a small 16 bit program I really like and have solved a lot of problems to get it to get it to run on windows 10. ( Humour me) ;-}}
However when I try to open the settings menu I get a VBRUN300.DLL error.
I think the issue is registration of the file and when i try to register it i am told it may not be compatible with the computer I am using (Windows 10 32 bit)
and to check if it is compatible with x86 or x64 regsvr32.exe.
Is there a way around this?
Thanks.
Chuck

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9948
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Forcing VBRUN300.DLL registration in Windows 10
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2020, 03:22:55 AM »
That may the case but if you right click on the program's icon and select Properties and then on Compatibility, you can either run the troubleshooter or check the box to activate the dropdown to see if running it in any of the other Win versions on offer will resolve.
Tom.

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Forcing VBRUN300.DLL registration in Windows 10
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2020, 04:30:09 AM »
I have done These.
 At first it would not run at all.
By running the troubleshooter and getting the proper compatibility modes I finally got it to open
The only problem now is the VBRUN300.dll issue which prevents me from opening the settings menu and configuring the program
Thanks for the suggestions,
Chuck

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9948
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Forcing VBRUN300.DLL registration in Windows 10
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2020, 10:01:54 AM »
I would think running a 16bit program on a 32 bit machine would probably cause problems.

I'm not sure what else to suggest.
Tom.