Author Topic: safe mode  (Read 2464 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline phmallet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2020
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
safe mode
« on: April 16, 2020, 11:14:19 PM »
Good morning, sir,

impossible to start in safe mode.

I just get a fuzzy wallpaper, and no desktop icon appears. It stays frozen like this, until I restart in normal mode.

How do I please do this? Thanks to you.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2020, 08:18:52 AM »
I need more info on which version of Windows you are using but have you recently downloaded anything ?

Try your restore points to see if that gets your safe mode working again.
Tom.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2020, 01:44:06 PM »
Prior to trying your restore points, I would advise creating a Hiren's Boot Disk should you have problems with the restore points.

Use the 15.2 download - https://www.techspot.com/downloads/6966-hirens-bootcd.html
Tom.

Offline phmallet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2020
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2020, 11:51:31 PM »
hello, sorry for the delay...

i've got a brain new installed version 1909 18363.778 just out of the store after a repair

I can run safe mode with Windows, but not directly fromTweaking

good day to you

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2020, 08:45:15 AM »
Did you have the program installed before the repair and would it boot to safe mode then.

If you hadn't, then can you uninstall and then reinstall the program to see if it makes a difference.
Tom.

Offline phmallet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2020
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2020, 10:37:09 AM »
hello,

yes it did work before they totally reinstalled W10

I already did what you say, but no way !

so what I do now is running safe mode from windows, and then run Tweak... it works, so I'll wait for an update.

thanks to you again.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2020, 02:38:11 PM »
See if a clean boot will help.

As Win 10 was reinstalled as a clean install then I assume you had to reinstall everything ?

Right click on the taskbar and select Task Manager then under Start-up disable all items and check again.

If it still fails to start then go Start - type msconfig and press enter when it comes up, then under Services check the box to Hide all Microsoft services - Disable all - Apply - OK - Restart and see if that makes any difference.

With both the start up items and non-MS services, if either resolves then enable just one item at a time and reboot to see when it fails.

You can leave that item/Service disabled.

If it is a Service then go Start - type services.msc and press enter when it comes up.

Scroll down to that Service -  right click on it and select Properties then use the dropdown to change its start up to Manual - OK

Click on File/Exit then reboot.

N.B. When you uncheck a non-MS service for a program, prior to uninstalling that program you need to go into msconfig and re-check its box, otherwise it will remain there and you will end up with orphan files.
Tom.

Offline phmallet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2020
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2020, 11:58:21 AM »
Hello ! And thanks for help.

No way, still the icons doesn't appear.

But it's OK, I'll continue to go safe mode from Windows, then open Tweaking. Same result in the end.

Have a nice day, and thanks again.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2020, 12:18:12 AM »
The current version of the repair program is now 4.8.0 - do you have that ?

I'm not sure if these cmds will help as you've recently had a clean install but open a Command Prompt (Admin) and enter these -

dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

sfc /scannow

exit

Reboot and check again, but let me know what those cmds report.
Tom.

Offline phmallet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2020
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2020, 01:28:56 AM »
Thanks.

I made a scanhealth.

Health : no component store corruption detected. The operation completed succesfully.
Scannow is OK

Same problem with safe mode.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2020, 07:36:58 AM »
I don't know what else to advise - I'll ask Shane for his input on this.

Have you updated to 4.8.0 ?
Tom.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2020, 08:51:59 AM »
Shane doesn't know either :(
Tom.

Offline phmallet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2020
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #12 on: April 20, 2020, 12:51:49 PM »
Thanks.

Yes, v. 480.

Anyway, thank you very much for spending time on this.

Bye.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #13 on: April 20, 2020, 03:01:46 PM »
Sorry I wasn't able to help, but generally when the program is problematic and specific, it's usually down to the machine.

Which antivirus program are you using and could you try with it uninstalled or disabled in its settings.

Most AVs reinstate themselves in a clean boot so you can't isolate them when disabling start up items or non-MS services.
Tom.

Offline phmallet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2020
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2020, 08:50:53 AM »
Good day Boggin,

good news from here : I've just updated to the very last W10 2004 Preview (19041.207) and going safe mode is working again on start up !

But right click "Edit with notepad" is always missing.

Scanning with Repair Windows doesn't work with that W10 Preview, anyway that seems normal to me, W10 2004 is a step further.

Bye !

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2020, 01:59:57 PM »
Yes, you will need to wait until Shane updates the program after the general release as it could cause Permissions issues.
Tom.

Offline phmallet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2020
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2020, 10:36:56 PM »
Thanks for all Tom.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #17 on: April 23, 2020, 01:17:02 AM »
You're welcome :)
Tom.

Offline William Rice

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2019
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #18 on: May 11, 2020, 12:28:24 AM »
Hi Boggin,
In mid-April I sent the same issue to support@tweaking.com. Still no reply, so I decided to try here. My complaint was "I am a paid-up Pro user. I used to be able to boot into safe mode from the program. Some time ago it stopped being successful at getting booted into safe mode. I get to the fuzzed out screen where the little enter password window normally shows up and the enter your MS password. There is no longer any way to enter a password. I have waited through two updates on your program and two or three Windows updates and it still won’t work. What do I need to do to continue using this program? Who knows when I will really need to use it in an emergency!"

Twk.com was installed after a clean install of Win10 pro 1909. It worked twice and then would not open safe mode. I had done almost all of the recommended fixes even before seeing this forum, none of which makes any difference. This problem seems to have been created by Twk.com running it basic repair function, not from WIN10 nor any anti-virus etc, programs. This needs to be looked into by programing dept. at twking.com.

Thanks,
William Rice

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #19 on: May 11, 2020, 12:52:02 AM »
I apologise for missing your post but now there is another reported instance of this occurring, I'll pass it on to Shane for his investigation.

However, I haven't had any problems when testing the Safe Mode aspect of the program and if Shane is also unable to replicate it, then I'm not sure what he can do.

If it doesn't appear to be broke then he won't have anything to go on to fix it.
Tom.

Offline William Rice

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2019
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #20 on: May 11, 2020, 11:35:25 AM »
Hi Tom,

I understand these types of problems can be almost impossible to figure out. This one is especially hard since it does boot into safe mode up to the point of the sign in screen, it just doesn't have a place to sign in! What makes it even stranger is that you CAN sign in if you go to safe mode from the windows restart process or via the troubleshooting route.

Probably not productive to spend a lot of time on this issue. Just do it the hard WIN10 way and get on with it.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #21 on: May 11, 2020, 02:17:40 PM »
I don't use a password on any of my machines so whether I use the program or Windows to get to Safe Mode, it takes me straight there.

I don't know if this would make a difference but go Start - type netplwiz and press enter when it comes up.

There you will see a checked box for Users must enter a username and password to use this computer

Uncheck the box and press OK and then see what the program does.

As you can see from mine, the box is checked but as I've never set up a login password, it's non-effective.

Do you need to have a password for your machine ?

Tom.

Offline William Rice

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2019
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #22 on: May 11, 2020, 05:29:18 PM »
Interesting. I think I need a password. I have my banking and other sensitive info on the computer in question and grandkids who visit often. I have another computer for them, but one computer + two grandkids = overflow to my PC. Anyway, I just hold the shift key when I restart the computer and go in that way. I suppose if I needed to go into safe mode for several reboots I could just uncheck the above and recheck after I was done. That could be handy.

Fortunately I do not need to go into safe mode very often. So thanks for the info, but don't worry about it too much unless you get more complaints. Hopefully the Spring update will fix it anyway, as noted earlier.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9946
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #23 on: May 12, 2020, 02:06:46 AM »
I'm just wondering when I'll get the 2004 Windows Update - I guess I'll have to create a newer Win 10 install USB then.
Tom.

Offline William Rice

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2019
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: safe mode
« Reply #24 on: May 12, 2020, 10:30:55 AM »
Last I read, the new release starts 5/28 in a gradual rollout. I personally don't know if you really need a new install disk since they are never completely up to date and you need to do an update as soon as you install it anyway. But since I am somewhat OCD about stuff like that I will probably do a new one anyway.

Regards,
William