Author Topic: Advice on using Registry Backup and restore please  (Read 5444 times)

Offline gigaday

• View Profile
Advice on using Registry Backup and restore please
« on: May 12, 2020, 11:28:08 pm »
I’m new to tweaking.com forums so please bear with me if you can.

The first I knew that I had a problem was that a USB microphone driver failed, the microphone would not work and the driver wouldn’t uninstall. I thought I would simply have to restore the Windows Registry with System Restore and all would be well.

However, try as I might using advice from various web sites, I could not recovery any old versions of the registry and System Restore always failed with error 0x80070005. So I started looking for registry backup and restore programs and tweaking.com’s Registry Backup looks like it should do the job and give me a way of keeping the Registry up to date without a working Windows System Restore.

I have done some practice backup/restores with Registry Backup and it seems to work in that the Registry does get restored but I am unsure that I am using the best options and I do get an error when I restore.

The error I get with the Registry Backup after restoring is “The User Profile Service failed to sign in. User profile cannot be loaded”. But I can log in and my desktop looks as it should.

Would I be best to use Volume Shadow Copy from now on or Fallback?

Can I repair the Profile error that I get after I use Registry Backup to restore?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Tony

Offline Boggin

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Advice on using Registry Backup and restore please
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2020, 02:50:23 am »
That error code denotes some form of Access Denied which could be caused by your antivirus program.

You haven't said which version of Windows you are using, but boot up into Safe Mode and try the normal restore points again.

Your antivirus program as well as other 3rd party programs will be isolated in that mode.