Author Topic: netlogon switched to manual  (Read 433 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mauricev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
netlogon switched to manual
« on: July 10, 2020, 12:41:26 PM »
Windows 7 computer on a domain. Ran Tweaking.com in safe mode, which succeeded in getting the computer back on the network, but my user couldn't connect via RDP. It turns out that Tweaking apparently switched the startup mode of the NetLogon service to manual. Switching it back to automatic and all is well.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9385
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: netlogon switched to manual
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2020, 02:18:52 PM »
The repair program tends to default things.

What was the network problem ?
Tom.

Offline mauricev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: netlogon switched to manual
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2020, 08:04:09 PM »
Pinging computers was resulting in "General Failure"

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9385
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: netlogon switched to manual
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2020, 01:59:02 AM »
I've never set up a domain because I generally only have one machine switched on at a time unless I'm installing updates on another.

Two Win 7 cmds I would use for network problems would be -

netsh winsock reset catalog

netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt

However, my Netlogin service is default set to Manual in my Win 10.

I'll mention this to Shane to see if the repair program should have done that.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2020, 04:48:21 AM by Boggin »
Tom.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1117
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: netlogon switched to manual
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2020, 08:09:45 PM »
- The default setting for the NETLOGON Service (in Windows 7) - as set by WR - is AUTO (WR v4.9.0)

But it's a bit more complicated.
- When WR is running then repair #26 will check wether or not your system is connected to a domain. Depending on the outcome of that check WR will set the state of this Service to either MANUAL or AUTO.
- Did you run repair #26 ? Was your system connected to a domain when WR was running ?
- Running the program in Safe Mode has its problems because in Safe Mode only a (very) limited amount of Services (NETLOGON ??) are running/ are ALLOWED to run. It's called Safe Mode for a GOOD reason.

- Suggestion:
- Run WR in Safe Mode again and run only repair #26. What happened with NETLOGON ? Was your system connected to a domain/internet ?
- Run WR in Normal Mode and run only repair #26. What happened with NETLOGON ?
- Please, do the 2 suggestions (see above) and report back. This will be VERY helpful for the developer of WR !!!
« Last Edit: July 12, 2020, 08:17:47 PM by Willy2 »