Author Topic: Windows Repair Update  (Read 932 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1146
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Windows Repair Update
« on: December 11, 2020, 03:56:07 PM »
- In the latest version of WR there was supposedly a bug fixed:

"Fixed bug where the repair info drop down list was blank and not showing info on the repairs."

- Are these bugs REALLY fixed ?

1)
The "Presets" box (above the boxes of the individual repairs) shows the text "Click here". When I open that box, it shows 5 lines of text and 1 blank line. Text missing ?

2)
When I click on "Repair info" then a new window opens. The drop box remains empty when I open this for the 1st time. It doesn't show e.g. the 1st line of the content of the "Repair Info" list. The user must select a repair to make a text show up in that box.

3)
Something similar (like under 2) ) happens in the program "Registry Backup". If the user wants to restore the registry then the dropbox window remains empty.

See also the pictures attached
« Last Edit: December 11, 2020, 08:29:27 PM by Willy2 »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9964
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Update
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2020, 02:13:51 AM »
Sorry - I've just seen your post.

It isn't advisable to use the Registry Backup just yet as it has a bug in it where it produces an error when you try to restore from it, but for me you have always had to use the dropdown to select the date of the back up.

I've reported this bug to Shane but he hasn't had time to fix it yet so it's advisable to create a manual restore point of your own and not use that option within WR because I've found that while it reports it has created a restore point, it doesn't physically create one.

However, I always create a system image before test running new versions, as I've had problems when restoring from a restore point.

Performing the restore seems to work better in Safe Mode.

The Repair info for me when I use the dropdown produces a list of the repairs to click on which then fills the pane with info on that repair.

That doesn't seem to be too much of a hardship.

I've never used the Presets.

When I click on Create a Preset I'm prompted to save the current config or not but the list of repairs remain to edit or not.

I don't get a Click here option.
Tom.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1146
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Update
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2020, 05:38:37 PM »
- Is this something perhaps only happening on a Windows 7 system ?

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9964
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Update
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2020, 03:15:47 AM »
I'll check this out on my Win 7 x64 Home Premium laptop later today and get back to you.

It isn't practical for me to do that at the moment.
Tom.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1146
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Update
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2020, 10:36:34 AM »
I never use Registry Backup (RB) from Windows Repair (WR). Because I also have the Stand-Alone version of RB installed. In that regard I have no experience whether or not RB doens't make a backup when called from WR. And, of course, I am still using Windows 7.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1146
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Update
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2020, 12:10:34 PM »
- No, using RB (from Windows Repair) seems to work OK on my Win 7 system.
- But what DO NOT like is that RB - in this case -  Always uses the "Fall back" method instead of the "Volume Shadow copy System" method.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9964
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Update
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2020, 02:51:24 PM »
I think it just worked the once on my Win 7.

I'll be checking out the Registry back up tomorrow on my Win 7 - been watching the Snooker and it's too late now.
Tom.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9964
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Update
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2020, 03:41:01 AM »
WR seems to work the same on my Win 7 machine with the Click Here giving you a choice of edited repairs to run and the Repair Info still has the dropdown to select whichever repair you want the info on.
Tom.