Author Topic: Fake Info in Tweaking Tool  (Read 614 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Angelika

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: -2
    • View Profile
Fake Info in Tweaking Tool
« on: February 09, 2021, 11:46:19 PM »
Created = not created (Problem System Restore!)
I've tried some of scripts, commands and other FIX, but System restore hasn't worked for a long time!

https://i.postimg.cc/DzgPKzVP/sshot-2021-02-10-08-36-56.jpg

Pomyślnie utworzono punkt przywracania (Proces = C:\Windows\System32\wbem\WmiPrvSE.exe; Opis = Tweaking.com - Windows Repair 2021).
Successfully created restore point (Process = C: \ Windows \ System32 \ wbem \ WmiPrvSE.exe; Description = Tweaking.com - Windows Repair 2021).
« Last Edit: February 09, 2021, 11:49:01 PM by Angelika »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9932
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Fake Info in Tweaking Tool
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2021, 02:01:18 AM »
Yes, I know and I've already passed this onto Shane but as yet, it has remained unaddressed.

It says that it has created a restore point but on checking, it hasn't physically been created.

The registry backup also has a bug in it.

I'll email Shane about this again but my advice is to manually create your own restore point which I've advised in previous queries about this.
Tom.

Offline Angelika

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: -2
    • View Profile
Re: Fake Info in Tweaking Tool
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2021, 03:04:57 AM »
Quote
manually create your own restore point which I've advised in previous queries about this.

It doesn't change the form of things.
Shows that a Restore Point has been created, but when reopening and checking, it shows "no restore point was created and it is every time".
System files are not corrupted sfc /scannow - always shows no repair is required! System - healthy!

===
Repair_Volume_Shadow_Copy_Service
C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Windows Repair (All in One)\Logs\10-02-21_12.10.12
===
Usˆuga Kopiowanie wolumin˘w w tle nie zostaˆa uruchomiona.

Dost©pne sĄ dalsze informacje Pomocy; aby je uzyska†, wpisz NET HELPMSG 3521.

Usˆuga Dostawca kopiowania w tle oprogramowania firmy Microsoft nie zostaˆa uruchomiona.

Dost©pne sĄ dalsze informacje Pomocy; aby je uzyska†, wpisz NET HELPMSG 3521.

Usˆuga Kopiowanie wolumin˘w w tle jest wˆa˜nie zatrzymywana.
Usˆuga Kopiowanie wolumin˘w w tle zostaˆa zatrzymana pomy˜lnie.

Usˆuga Dostawca kopiowania w tle oprogramowania firmy Microsoft jest wˆa˜nie zatrzymywana.
Usˆuga Dostawca kopiowania w tle oprogramowania firmy Microsoft zostaˆa zatrzymana pomy˜lnie.
===
« Last Edit: February 10, 2021, 03:15:26 AM by Angelika »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9932
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Fake Info in Tweaking Tool
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2021, 08:27:27 AM »
I've already given you my reply to this.

It is known that WR does not physically create restore points and I repeat my advice for you to manually create your own restore point.

I've emailed Shane about this and am awaiting his reply.

Until then I have nothing more to add.
Tom.

Offline Angelika

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: -2
    • View Profile
Re: Fake Info in Tweaking Tool
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2021, 03:12:44 PM »
And I repeat that in the Manual creating a restore point panel shows the same all the time: Created but not actually created. Paradox  :sarcastic:

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9932
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Fake Info in Tweaking Tool
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2021, 03:45:39 AM »
I've had a reply back from Shane on this and as it works on his machines, he's unable to replicate it but he will be looking into it.

It has something to do with the Windows' WMI files, but I don't think running the WMI repairs would resolve.

I'll check that out later.

Again, all I can suggest is to create your own restore point for the time being.

BTW - Shane has released v4.11.1 because of another bug he had found but unrelated to this.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2021, 03:49:20 AM by Boggin, Reason: Typo »
Tom.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9932
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Fake Info in Tweaking Tool
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2021, 06:52:10 AM »
I've ran the WMI repairs in Safe Mode with Networking and after the reboot used WR to create a restore point but it still hadn't physically created one.

I even reset WMI with manual cmds from an admin Command Prompt and it still didn't physically create one.
Tom.