Author Topic: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"  (Read 819 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Angelika

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: -2
    • View Profile
icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« on: February 12, 2021, 07:27:04 AM »
Quote
On Windows Vista/7

Perform the steps below on the folder reference in your error message. The Config.msi folder is used in this example.

Select Start > All Programs > Accessories.
Right-click on Command Prompt and select Run As Administrator. A Command Prompt window opens.
In the Command Prompt window, type the following commands exactly as they appear below. Include all spaces and quotation marks, and press Enter at the end of each line:

Code: [Select]
icacls "C:\Config.Msi" /T /C /grant administrators:F
I get an error. I don't know the solution.
Windows 7 (problem only Polish Operating System or maybe other Non-English)

Code: [Select]
Microsoft Windows [Wersja 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. Wszelkie prawa zastrzeżone.

C:\Windows\system32>icacls "C:\Config.Msi" /T /C /grant administrators:F
administrators: Nie zostało wykonane mapowanie między nazwami kont a identyfikatorami zabezpieczeń.
Liczba plików przetworzonych pomyślnie: 0; liczba plików, których przetwarzanie nie powiodło się: 1.

C:\Windows\system32>
« Last Edit: February 12, 2021, 07:31:29 AM by Angelika »

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9787
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 120
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2021, 03:14:47 PM »
Perhaps you should take this up with whoever posted those instructions.
Tom.

Offline Angelika

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: -2
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2021, 01:52:30 AM »
Instant solution:

(English)
icacls "C:\Config.Msi" /T /C /grant administrators:F

(Polish)
icacls "C:\Config.Msi" /T /C /grant administratorzy:F

(Espanol)
icacls "C:\Config.Msi" /T /C /grant administradores:F

(French)
icacls "C:\Config.Msi" /T /C /grant administrateurs:F



Ask Shane to include multilanguage in scripts?
« Last Edit: February 13, 2021, 01:55:46 AM by Angelika »

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9787
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 120
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2021, 01:59:20 AM »
So why did you bother posting the problem when you knew the solution - again.
Tom.

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9787
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 120
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2021, 02:09:22 AM »
There's a hack at the bottom of this article to add Take Ownership to the right click context menu where you can right click on any file and select that option.

https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/add-take-ownership-to-explorer-right-click-menu-in-vista/

Tom.

Offline Angelika

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: -2
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2021, 02:18:41 AM »
Article for Windows Vista.

It will not work for Windows 7 with UAC enabled!
Another script for UAC is needed
« Last Edit: February 13, 2021, 02:22:11 AM by Angelika »

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9787
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 120
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2021, 02:21:56 AM »
Well it works on my Win 10 and Win 7 machines and the UAC is enabled on all.

Why are you mentioning Vista when you have a Win 7 machine.
Tom.

Offline Angelika

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: -2
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2021, 02:23:35 AM »
You will again ask that question you have asked before. Note again that the link is for Windows Vista.

Offline Angelika

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: -2
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2021, 02:25:07 AM »
Quote
UAC is enabled on all.
Show me the menu from "Take Ownership" and I'll see if you're telling the truth :)
I know there is a difference in the Menu for UAC and without UAC
« Last Edit: February 13, 2021, 02:26:39 AM by Angelika »

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9787
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 120
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2021, 02:30:56 AM »
While I use another hack for my Win 10 machines, I have that one on my win 7 machine as it was the first one I came across.

The UAC comes up to allow the change to be made, so I'm not sure as to why you are getting that problem

I'm unable to take a screenshot of the right click context menu as it closes when I try to do anything else.

I daresay you will find that yourself.
Tom.

Offline Angelika

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: -2
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2021, 03:07:13 AM »
The menu is easy to take a screenshot (Prt Scr / PirintScreen button). Show me or I don't believe you. Most people ask me to show something, so I'm asking you to show me also.

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9787
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 120
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2021, 03:10:37 AM »
To take a screenshot on my laptop I have to press FN ALT and PRTSC together which cancels the right click context menu.

Show me your right click context menu.
Tom.

Offline Angelika

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: -2
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2021, 01:44:38 AM »
You can freely assign any keyboard shortcut by taking a screenshot. Everyone can do it.

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9787
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 120
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #13 on: February 14, 2021, 02:40:12 AM »
So show me your right click context menu.

BTW - I'm not in the habit of lying and if you insinuate or accuse me of that again then I'll ban you on the grounds of abusing another member.
Tom.

Offline Angelika

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: -2
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2021, 11:00:36 AM »
Does not work on Windows 7 x64. Suggest a different solution. ;)

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9787
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 120
    • View Profile
Re: icacls "C:\Config.Msi"
« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2021, 03:03:18 PM »
It doesn't work on my Win 10 laptops either so I don't have an alternative solution to taking a screen shot of the right click context menu.

What problems are you getting when trying to use that hack ?
Tom.