Author Topic: WR v4.12.3  (Read 622 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1161
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
WR v4.12.3
« on: January 31, 2022, 03:55:32 PM »
- I ran WR version v4.12.3 last evening. I noticed that in the log file there were 2 lines that read:

Decompressing & Updating Windows Permission File c:\Program Files (x86)\PcWinTech\WR v4.12.3\files\permissions\7\profile.7z
Failed to decompress the file!


I also attached the logfile to this post (zipped up in a *.7z file).

This file ("profile.7z") was only (less than ??) 1 kb in size. Is this correct ?? I tried to decompress this file with 7zip (installed on my Win 7 system) and that also failed. Is this correct ?? Are there more files that WR / 7zip fails to decompress ?? I didn't see this error pop up in the logfile for other *.7z files. So, it seems that a file with this small size causes this error. Or is this an error in 7zip ?

To be fixed in the next version of WR ?
« Last Edit: January 31, 2022, 04:03:37 PM by Willy2 »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10141
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: WR v4.12.3
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2022, 12:35:36 AM »
I'll pass this onto Shane.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1161
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v4.12.3
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2022, 11:06:01 PM »
- I suspect that this file ("profile.7z") is supposed to set the permissions for the root of the folder called "C:\users\....... ". Is this correct ?
- I ran WR because I have trouble changing some settings in Win 7 and I assumed that this was a matter of permissions of files in the "C:\users\..... " folder.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1161
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v4.12.3
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2022, 08:18:27 PM »
I have another problem since I ran the last version of WR (v4.12.3).

I can change the behaviour of the system tray icons on my Win 7 system. I want to let Windows always show a few selected icons and always hide a few other icons. But after a restart the behaviour of those icons has been changed to the default behaviour of those icons. I.e. only show the icon for a few seconds in the system tray. After those few seconds the icon disappears.

Does the repair "Remove policies set by infections" cause this change in behaviour of the system tray icon ? Or is there another repair that resets the behaviour of the system tray icons ? Is this a "permissions" issue ? Either in the registry or for folders and/or files ?

Or is there another thing in WR that "interferes" with the working of the system tray icon ?
« Last Edit: February 02, 2022, 08:20:21 PM by Willy2 »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10141
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: WR v4.12.3
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2022, 03:51:25 PM »
You could uncheck Repair #12 which repairs icons which is probably the reason for why your icons are behaving in this way.

What is the reason you are running Windows Repair on your Win 7 ?

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1161
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v4.12.3
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2022, 04:54:52 PM »
- I ran the repairs to see if the program code had changed.
- I went through the repair logs and they showed that I ran repairs 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, 14 & 18 (in several combinations) but NOT in Safe Mode. So, it seems that one of those repairs breaks these system tray settings.
- And this could be either "policy" issue (repair #12) or a permission issue (repairs #1, 2, 3 ,4). The error mentioned in post#1 of this thread could be related to this "system tray" problem. I.e. due to a permission problem the user could be unable to change those system tray settings.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1161
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v4.12.3
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2022, 10:39:47 PM »
- No, repair #12 only deletes the icon cache, whereas repair # 10 repairs a number of policies, repairs a number of settings in the registry.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10141
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: WR v4.12.3
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2022, 12:42:35 AM »
If your machine hasn't been infected then no policy changes will have occurred.

Run an antivirus scan to be sure.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2022, 01:41:16 AM by Boggin, Reason: Typo »

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1161
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v4.12.3
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2022, 01:04:13 PM »
Yes & No. Because this behaviour of the system tray icon changed after I ran WR.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10141
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: WR v4.12.3
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2022, 03:16:55 PM »
Did you create a manual restore point before running WR ?

Even if you didn't, the program will have backed up your registry before running which you can restore.

I'll run WR tomorrow to see if it changes my icons.

By system tray do you mean taskbar ?

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1161
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v4.12.3
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2022, 07:25:57 PM »
- No, I mean only the system tray icons. Like the system tray icon for WR that sits in the system tray.
- Yes, I can restore the registry using Tweaking's Registry Backup to restore the proper working of the system tray icon. But that doesn't eliminate that running WR "breaks" the ability to change settings for individual icons on my Win 7 system.

Offline Willy2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1161
  • Karma: 18
    • View Profile
Re: WR v4.12.3
« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2022, 08:31:45 PM »
There is another problem with WR, this time with the repair "Repair Internet Explorer". Everytime I run this repair, one error keeps popping up multiple times:

"The switch /D is only valid together with the switch /S"

The only command I could find in the program code for this repair, with this /D switch is the command "ATTRIB .............. ". So, it seems that this MSDOS command also needs a /S switch to be able to execute that command without causing an error.

To be fixed in the next version of WR !!!!
« Last Edit: February 04, 2022, 08:35:13 PM by Willy2 »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10141
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: WR v4.12.3
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2022, 01:04:53 AM »
I haven't had any word back from Shane on this yet.

I'll send him another email.