Author Topic: cpu build questions  (Read 33951 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #25 on: December 20, 2012, 02:49:44 PM »
The pins will work.

As for the overclock it would take a LOT of fine tuning and testing to try and get it to 4 ghz. On my 3.3 ghz amd I could get it to 3.8 and have it stable.

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #26 on: December 21, 2012, 08:05:31 AM »
Shane

   I was thinking about taking your advice and using a raid 1 configuration for my hard drives. However it looks like it is not possible in order to keep the ssd fast. From what I understand, to keep a ssd fast it must support TRIM. The only way to use TRIM properly is to set the bios up for AHCI. TRIM it seems does not support raid configurations at the moment. If I'm wrong please let me know. I would like to have TRIM for my ssd (AHCI) and raid1 my hardrives (RAID).



Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #27 on: December 21, 2012, 08:14:31 AM »
Upon further reading. Is AHCI a subset of RAID? Therefore as long as the ssd is not part of the RAID array would TRIM support work?


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #28 on: December 21, 2012, 10:50:11 AM »
Sounds like the best thing to do is have the OS on the SSD and raid your other drives. Keep anything that is important on those while keeping the OS (Which can be reinstalled if the drive dies) on the faster drive.

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #29 on: December 21, 2012, 11:03:16 AM »
Still not sure if TRIM for ssd will work. It's vague about weather or not it will in RAID configuration. Can I set AHCI (TRIM will only work for AHCI) for the ssd and RAID for the others?


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #30 on: December 21, 2012, 11:05:25 AM »
Quote
Can I set AHCI (TRIM will only work for AHCI) for the ssd and RAID for the others?

Thats how I would do it :-)

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #31 on: December 22, 2012, 10:26:27 PM »
Hi Shane

   While in the bios for my new rig, I noticed cpu temp was at 47 c and system board was at 31 c. Is this normal to read higher in the bios? The bios is a UEFI in a msi motherboard. I have not loaded windows yet. My wife is supposed to have gotten me a nice video card for Christmas, which is why I haven't loaded windows (if not I will be buying one I guess lol) :wink:


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #32 on: December 23, 2012, 08:41:59 AM »
Shane

  Do you disable core parking or do you just leave it? Once I get this thing ready to go I was thinking about it (how do you even do it).


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #33 on: December 23, 2012, 12:20:09 PM »
Quote
  While in the bios for my new rig, I noticed cpu temp was at 47 c and system board was at 31 c. Is this normal to read higher in the bios? The bios is a UEFI in a msi motherboard. I have not loaded windows yet. My wife is supposed to have gotten me a nice video card for Christmas, which is why I haven't loaded windows (if not I will be buying one I guess lol) :wink:

When in the bios the CPU is maxed out. So those temps are good :-) Make sure AMD cool & quit is on and your system will under clock when not in use lowering the heat and fan speeds. Saving the power and the life of the system.

Also why wait for the new video card? Wont hurt at all to pop a new one in after :wink:

Quote
Do you disable core parking or do you just leave it? Once I get this thing ready to go I was thinking about it (how do you even do it).

Not sure what that is off the top of my head. I dont remember seeing it in my bios. So for now leave it at its default.

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #34 on: December 23, 2012, 12:35:49 PM »
I'm getting a new one for Christmas. I just used an old one to check the build so far. I haven't even loaded windows yet. As far as core parking, that is a feature in windows. You should be able to see it under resource management. From what I understand windows will park cores, not giving you the full potential of the cpu. Not sure if this is snake oil?


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #35 on: December 23, 2012, 12:40:15 PM »
Havent heard of it myself. Personally I want Windows to use all my cores. The point of multi core is to multi task. Defeats the purpose otherwise :-)

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #36 on: December 23, 2012, 12:54:04 PM »
Yeah iv seen it on my friends machine. Look in resource management and depending on what your doing windows will park some cores.



Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #37 on: December 26, 2012, 03:34:46 PM »
Shane

   What do you use to check core temps?


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #38 on: December 26, 2012, 03:38:23 PM »
When I need to check it I use the software from the motherboard mfg. :wink:

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #39 on: December 26, 2012, 03:41:54 PM »
How do i do that? just log into the bios?

Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #40 on: December 26, 2012, 03:43:49 PM »
No, go to the motherboard mfg site and find the downloads for your MB. It should be there where you can download it :wink:

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #41 on: December 27, 2012, 06:34:02 PM »
Hi Shane

   Hope you had a merry Christmas. We'll I'm up and running. Brand new build with new OS install. I'm over clocking and I am sending two pic's. Why are they different as far as CPU temps? The program is MSI's control panel. I have the option to run it either in full mode (Shot1) or gadget mode (shot2). It looks like maybe cpu temp at the board and actual cpu temp maybe? Also the overclock as you can see from shot2 is done with just the multiplier. It's stock voltage. I haven't tried to see how far I can go before changeing the voltage. If I have to change voltage. How small should the adjustments be. It's at 1.26 volts (The processor is amd fx 6100 six core). What is the voltage limit? So far it's fast (ssd he he  :tongue:). My graphics card is xfx radeon 7770 ultra clocked. Ram is Kingston hyper x blue 1600 mhz.

Windows experience index is as follows

Processor 7.4
Memory 7.8
Graphics 7.6
Gaming Graphics 7.6
Primary Hard Disk 7.9

I want to get the processor up to at least 7.6 (thats why I have the questions about cpu temps and overclocking).

At the current overclocking settings I ran Prime 95 for an hour with no failures with temps between 49 and 52 C.

Any advice is greatly appreciated as I want this to be really fast without sacrificing durability.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #42 on: December 28, 2012, 12:05:48 PM »
No matter what those are great temps. When the CPU is under a full load for a while is where it matters. As long as the temps hit 150 f or less at full load you will be fine.

As for voltage this is where it gets tricky and dangerous. You increase the voltage by the smallest amount possible until you find a stable point. If the cpu runs stable your fine.

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #43 on: December 28, 2012, 12:19:55 PM »
I'm running prime 95 now. How long should I run it to check for stability? Bye the way I cranked up the multiplier to get 3.9 ghz. I tried 4.0 ghz but there were some failures on prime 95 so I set it to 3.9 ghz. I think I will leave set there (as long as prime 95 doesn't show failures)as I really don't think I want to screw with the voltage. Just looking for advice now as to how long to test for stability.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #44 on: December 28, 2012, 12:24:30 PM »
That all depends. An  hour to be safe. As for me when I had my system overclocked I had it right at the borderline of stable. So I could game for hours with no problems but had random lockups, driver crashes and odd things. This would happen sometimes right at bootup or after hours of play. So by simply lowering it one step I found the sweet spot and I was good.

So an hour as a burn in test is good. Anything seems unstable just dropping it down 1 level may be all it needs to hit that max spot for stable.

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #45 on: December 28, 2012, 12:28:17 PM »
Okay. The pic's I sent you were idle temps. Right now under full load it's 49c/120f. Are these temps still good? Prime 95 has been running for about an hour now.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #46 on: December 28, 2012, 12:29:51 PM »
Yes those are good temps for full load. I have seen some systems with power cooling run at those temps at idle lol

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #47 on: December 28, 2012, 12:45:12 PM »
LOL! :omg: Okay thanks for all the help. I really appreciate it. This ssd drive is awesome. System boots in no time flat.



Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #48 on: December 28, 2012, 01:07:32 PM »
Forgot to ask. How do I setup amd cool and quite? It's enabled in the bios.



Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cpu build questions
« Reply #49 on: December 28, 2012, 01:09:21 PM »
Thats all you have to do. You should be able to see a current cpu clock in that program you got.

You will see the clock lower when idle and go max when under a load.

Shane