Author Topic: Can I change my power supply and GPU in this computer?  (Read 838 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tsmith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2020
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Can I change my power supply and GPU in this computer?
« on: August 15, 2022, 11:40:13 AM »
Im running windows 10 64-bit and have an elite desk 800 g3 and the power supply i believe is 180 watts.
I am wondering if I can update the power supply and or get a better GPU.
I have heard that this computer has a weird connection to the motherboard from the power supply that would have to be worked around somehow to switch the power supply.
At this point I am not sure if its worth updating or not? It runs pretty good except when I have multiple monitors plugged in and the data on the monitors is busy. Im told this processor will not work with windows 11 so I am not sure how long I will be able to keep using it.
I would update it if I can figure out what I need to do to replace the GPU VX2250 SERIES on NVIDIA GeForce GT 730.
There also is a built in GPU in the Intel HD Graphics 630.
can you recommend which way I should connect my monitors to have the most memory available? Is there a better way to connect the monitors to the 2 graphics devices? Should I connect 2 monitors to the NVIDIA or only 1 to the Nvidia or ?
If I can update this power supply can you recommend what power supply to get and what GPU to buy.
For now until I change the GPU and power supply should 2 of my monitors connect to the nvidia or 2 monitors connect to the Intel graphics 630 to make it have the most memory available?  Do you think a new power supply would be possible into this hp computer?
What graphics card is there now that would run with the existing power supply of 180 watts that would be worth switching to if any?
Also can you recommend an app or program that I can install that will help me to visualize what those graphics cards are doing? 
I ran Speccy and see that virtualization is supported but is showing that its disabled. Do you think I should enable it and if so what is that going to do?
   

Manufacturer   Intel
   Model   HD Graphics 630
   Device ID   8086-5912
   Revision   5
   Subvendor   HP (103C)
   Current Performance Level   Level 0
   Current GPU Clock   0 MHz
   Voltage   0.950 V
   Driver version   30.0.101.1994
 
it has an
i7 7th gen Intel Core i7 7700 @ 3.60GHz
Kaby Lake 14nm Technology
Manufacturer   HP
Model   8299 (U3E1)
Version   KBC Version 06.29
Chipset Vendor   Intel
Chipset Model   Kaby Lake
Chipset Revision   05
Southbridge Vendor   Intel
Southbridge Model   Q270
Southbridge Revision   00
   BIOS
      Brand   HP
      Version   P01 Ver. 02.39
      Date   11/17/2021
   PCI Data
         Slot PCI-E
            Slot Type   PCI-E
            Slot Usage   In Use
            Data lanes   x16
            Slot Designation   Slot1 / X16PCIEXP
            Characteristics   3.3V, PME, SMBus
            Slot Number   0
         Slot PCI-E
            Slot Type   PCI-E
            Slot Usage   Available
            Data lanes   x1
            Slot Designation   Slot2 / X1PCIEXP1
            Characteristics   3.3V, PME, SMBus
            Slot Number   1
         Slot PCI-E
            Slot Type   PCI-E
            Slot Usage   In Use
            Data lanes   x1
            Slot Designation   Slot3 / X1PCIEXP2
            Characteristics   3.3V, PME, SMBus
            Slot Number   2
         Slot PCI-E
            Slot Type   PCI-E
            Slot Usage   In Use
            Data lanes   x4
            Slot Designation   Slot4 / X4PCIEXP
            Characteristics   3.3V, PME, SMBus
            Slot Number   3
         Slot PCI-E Gen 3 x1
            Slot Type   PCI-E Gen 3 x1
            Slot Usage   Available
            Data lanes   x1
            Slot Designation   Slot5 / M2 WLAN/BT
            Characteristics   3.3V, PME, SMBus
            Slot Number   4
         Slot PCI-E Gen 3 x4
            Slot Type   PCI-E Gen 3 x4
            Slot Usage   In Use
            Data lanes   x4
            Slot Designation   Slot6 / M2 SSD
            Characteristics   3.3V, PME, SMBus
            Slot Number   5
RAM
      Memory slots
         Total memory slots   4
         Used memory slots   4
         Free memory slots   0
      Memory
         Type   Unknown
         Size   65536 MBytes
         Channels #   Dual
         DRAM Frequency   1196.8 MHz
         CAS# Latency (CL)   17 clocks
         RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCD)   17 clocks
         RAS# Precharge (tRP)   17 clocks
         Cycle Time (tRAS)   39 clocks
         Command Rate (CR)   2T
      Physical Memory
         Memory Usage   36 %
         Total Physical   64 GB
         Available Physical   40 GB
         Total Virtual   73 GB
         Available Virtual   46 GB
      SPD
         Number Of SPD Modules   4
            Slot #1
            Slot #2
            Slot #3
            Slot #4

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10173
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Can I change my power supply and GPU in this computer?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2022, 01:02:49 AM »
I would suggest you contact HP or a reputable computer repair shop.

We don't do hardware on this forum.

I have two Toshiba laptops updated to Win 10 but neither of them is Win 11 compatible - probably because of their age, so I had to buy a new Win 10 laptop that was upgradable to Win 11.

At the time I bought it, Win 11 laptops weren't available.

Offline tsmith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2020
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Can I change my power supply and GPU in this computer?
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2022, 05:08:33 PM »
Sorry, I must have misunderstood the title of the forum General computer support.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10173
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Can I change my power supply and GPU in this computer?
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2022, 01:27:45 AM »
You could try Googling to see if there are any suggestions for upgrading your machine but I think HP or a reputable repair shop would be best.

I don't know if Elite have a forum of their own where someone who has already done this could advise you.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2022, 01:31:24 AM by Boggin »

Offline msiafterburner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2020
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
  • choose to be kind
    • View Profile
    • Starbucks Near Me
Re: Can I change my power supply and GPU in this computer?
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2022, 07:44:09 AM »
While changing the power supply and GPU in the computer keep a few things in your mind.
Step 0 ? Things To Consider Before Buying A Card. Make sure your PSU can actually handle your new card if it needs more power. ...
Step 1 ? Before Turning Off Your PC. ...
Step 2 ? Discharge Static. ...
Step 3 ? Remove The Old Graphics Card. ...
Step 4 ? Insert The New Graphics Card. ...
Step 5 ? Reconnect The Cables And Boot Up Your Computer.