Author Topic: Drive speedometer  (Read 3712 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Drive speedometer
« on: January 03, 2013, 03:55:33 PM »
Shane
 
    In the feedback column a member indicated the usefulness of drive speedometer. I've asked this before in the past and you didn't have time for it at that moment. Would you entertain the idea of being to monitor all drives with their own fill bar to keep an eye on each one (as you know I have five..1 ssd and 4 hdd's)? Or is this just to labor intensive right now?


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Drive speedometer
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 05:12:32 PM »
I totally forgot! lol

Adding multiple monitors to the program would be a ton of work. But letting the user choose what drive to monitor would be easy. Right now it just does Total drives

    AddCounter 1, "\PhysicalDisk(_Total)\Disk Read Bytes/sec", hQuery
    AddCounter 2, "\PhysicalDisk(_Total)\Disk Write Bytes/sec", hQuery

SO if I made the simple change to allow you to choose what drive to monitor you could then copy the program to multiple sub folders and run a copy from each folder, with each one monitoring a different drive.

Other wise I would have to re write the program a ton to add multiple monitors to it.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Drive speedometer
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 05:35:11 PM »
That would be fine if wasn't to much trouble. People could use it to trouble shoot to figure out drive problems for multiple drives. I use CPUID hardware monitor to keep an eye on temps anyway if I suspect anything. Just would like something to monitor read and writes for each drive.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Drive speedometer
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2013, 05:37:44 PM »
Shouldnt be to hard. Let me see what I can do :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Drive speedometer
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2013, 06:54:50 PM »
OK v1.1.0
http://www.pcwintech.com/drive-speedometer

This was a fast update so it will take a little work, let me explain.

I couldn't find a way to pull the proper count names for each drive. So instead there is now a setting in the settings file that says
drive=_Total

The _Total is how it shows in the counter. You can change this setting to any drive counter you like, it will also show up in the tooltip of the try icon.

So you can open the counters on your system to see how it should be named.

Normally C: would be
0 C:

My system my C: and D: are on the same drive so it shows up as 0 C: D: and my external shows up as 1 E:

You put that setting to how it is labeled in counters. And then you can put a copy of the program in multiple folders and set each one to a different drive.

Not perfect but at least gives you what you want :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com