Author Topic: Boottrace  (Read 8241 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Boottrace
« on: December 22, 2011, 01:27:41 PM »
Told you I'd break something else. I changed my prefetch and superfetch setting in the reg to 2 instead of 3. Tired of my hard drive thrashing all the time to preload memory that didn't always load what I always use. I cleaned out my prefetch folder except for the layout file to make it fresh with new settings. Problem is I accidentally deleted the readyboot folder as well for the boot traces. How do I fix this? I have my system set up to make an image every night. I could go back and restore it, but I would like to know how to do it myself. Do I just make a new folder and call it ReadyBoot like it was in the prefetch folder?



Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Boottrace
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2011, 01:38:41 PM »
Hi Shane,  I appreciate your reply but I was talking about the readyboot folder in the prefetch folder, not readyboost.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Boottrace
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2011, 01:42:31 PM »
Personally I turn it off. I hate the hard drive thrashing it does.

It should remake it itself though.

Reboot a few times and see :wink:

Shane


Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Boottrace
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2011, 01:48:58 PM »
I rebooted several times and it has not remade itself. Thats why I recreated the readyboot folder myself, still no traces in it though. My boot time went from, hope you follow me on this, the bar that scrolls along while vista is booting, it would run 6 times before boot, now it's 38 times. Now I know this could also be due to changing prefetch and superfetch to boot files only value #2(same as you, I hate the hard drive thrashing). Just trying to figure out how to get the traces going again.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Boottrace
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2011, 01:51:32 PM »
If it is taking that long to boot then it is doing something in the background. During that stage it is loading services.

Try disabling the readyboot service and see if the boot time goes down. I could see it loading readyboot and its searching for stuff but not finding it. So try that and see if it helps. :wink:

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Boottrace
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2011, 01:52:40 PM »
Okay thanks


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris