Author Topic: Bug report WPT and WMI  (Read 8134 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alcymart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Bug report WPT and WMI
« on: March 16, 2013, 02:55:15 PM »
Ok, here is how to replicate the issue. Install the new Windows Performance Tools on Windows 7 http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30652 and only install the Windows Performance Toolkit which works perfectly fine in Windows 7 and is 100% compatible. Now if you do a repair WMI with All in One, reboot...next time you start the recorder aka wprui.exe you'll be greeted with the error The WMI Data Service is Not Available!  :omg: Was working correctly before doing the repair.

In short something was broken. Luckily I have image backups of my System.

Bernard

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2013, 02:58:19 PM »
No need to restore from an image :-)

The WMI repair deletes the WMI repository and asks Windows to rebuild it. So anything that added something to the repository will be gone. Just like when secuity center says it doesnt see an antivirus. The AV when it updates itself puts it self back into the repository.

If you reinstall the windows tool it will put it self back in the repository of WMI :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline alcymart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2013, 12:44:00 PM »
My appologies for posting in the wrong section. What you say now makes sense. Thank you for your time Shane. :smiley:

Bernard

Offline alcymart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2013, 01:10:55 PM »
UPDATE: I have uninstalled Windows Performance Toolkit and reinstalled,reboots etc... No change, same error Shane.  :omg: It is an official bug. Please advise once fixed so I can update Windows Repair (All in One) build. :wink:

My OS: Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit)
Let me know if you need more info.

Bernard
« Last Edit: March 17, 2013, 01:25:12 PM by alcymart »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2013, 01:44:44 PM »
Odd, I cant reproduce it.

I installed the WPT, I am on Windows 7 64 bit.

I then ran my WMI repair, I watched as the repository was deleted and rebuilt and now a smaller size. I then rebooted and ran C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.0\Windows Performance Toolkit\WPRUI.exe

And I dont have any errors.

I wonder if the problem isnt that it needs to be int he WMI but maybe the WMI didnt rebuild properly from the last repair?

Backup this folder, just so you can compare file sizes after the repair again
"C:\Windows\System32\wbem\Repository"

Then run my WMI repair again and then you can compare the sizes, the new ones should be smaller since it gets rebuilt.

My WMI repair does the exact steps that Microsoft says to do on their support pages :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline alcymart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2013, 05:48:39 PM »
I went to my repository folder and it is empty. Nothing at all! Should I have something in there? What now Shane?

Bernard
« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 05:52:33 PM by alcymart »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2013, 06:31:11 PM »
Should have it like what is in the picture I attached.

Open a cmd.exe as administrator and try these commands. Let me know which one works :-) (My repair currently does Winmgmt /salvagerepository)

Winmgmt /salvagerepository

Note this command will take the content of the inconsistent repository and merge it into the rebuilt repository if it is readable

If the above doesn’t work, then run:

Winmgmt /resetrepository

Note this will reset repository to the initial state when the OS was first installed

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline alcymart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2013, 07:02:16 PM »
Repository I have built back with Winmgmt /resetrepository I haven't tested WMI repair yet but will after I create a backup image. Will keep you updated...

Bernard

Offline alcymart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2013, 07:26:51 PM »
Well I'm back to the drawing board. WMI still not repaired IF and I say IF the issue is with the WMI... I attache a shot of the error when I run windows recorder wprui.exe

I see in your screenshot that files are locked. Something with permissions is wrong on my side.

« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 07:56:09 PM by alcymart »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2013, 09:03:29 PM »
And the sizes are very different. Since we are on the same version of Windows I wonder if I can have you use my repository. Something is deeper wrong with WMI. It isnt able to rebuild itself. This is why the repair failed as well. The repair simply deletes the repository and aks windows to rebuild it. But as you see Windows isnt able to.

So the best thing to do is to get a repository back on and leave it be. Something else is at play to have WMI unable to build itself.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline alcymart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2013, 10:08:01 PM »
I can try it, zip or rar me your repository and send it over, I'll try that and see what happens...

Bernard

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2013, 11:05:26 PM »
Here you go :-)

7-zip compressed on ultra. Cut down on the size a bit :-)

You will want to stop the WMI service first then put the files in.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline alcymart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2013, 12:29:15 AM »
Your repository worked flawless Shane! :smiley: Does that mean you will provide your repository within the fix itself...lol? hmm... Anyhow, A repair install would of been a pain... thank you for your support and all the best! :wink:

Update: Works better than I could ever have imagined, My boot is much faster, no more hangs here and there, OMG, I am so amazed!

Bernard
« Last Edit: March 24, 2013, 12:39:10 AM by alcymart »

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9280
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Bug report WPT and WMI
« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2013, 03:09:31 PM »
WMI is a big part of the system. The repair tool simply deletes the repository, registers the WMI files and then asks windows to rebuild the WMI. BUt that is what went wrong on your system. Something is broken much deeper. Windows couldn't rebuild the repository.

So with it now gone and not rebuilt the system will suffer. So the fix for you was to get you a repository that was good lol

I dont think I will add the actual repository files to the repair, this is the first time I have ever seen WMI not able to rebuild itself. But at least we know how to fix it :-)

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com