Author Topic: urlmon.dll/inetcpl.cpl/ordinal 459  (Read 14262 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline adamdcampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: urlmon.dll/inetcpl.cpl/ordinal 459
« Reply #30 on: August 17, 2015, 02:03:09 PM »
Hi Shane
Microsoft said go to Dell because they are the licence owners.
The guy from Microsoft fiddled around with the product key but could not activate it. He also tried all the obvious scans and deletes. It looks as though my product key has been used on another computer as someone upgraded but I do not have the discs. It is like they are distrusting of me not having paid for a product key.
All I can think of is that I have deleted files and it is finding those files and then reinstating them. But to find out those files and then where to get them from.
As you might feel I am getting a bit disillusioned.
Best wishes
Adam

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: urlmon.dll/inetcpl.cpl/ordinal 459
« Reply #31 on: August 17, 2015, 02:08:08 PM »
Did you ever use a product key finder to get the keycode before the repair install?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline adamdcampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: urlmon.dll/inetcpl.cpl/ordinal 459
« Reply #32 on: August 18, 2015, 10:34:13 AM »
Hi Shane
I used the product key finder and this is the number I gave to Microsoft.
I have not done a repair install.
Thanks
Adam

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: urlmon.dll/inetcpl.cpl/ordinal 459
« Reply #33 on: August 18, 2015, 12:45:14 PM »
Wait, now I am confused. You where going to do a repair install and needed the key you installed with currently. Then after the reinstall you would put the key in to activate. But you called ms and such before hand? Why? Of course it would show that another machine is using the key, your is. Isnt the current install already activated?

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline adamdcampbell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: urlmon.dll/inetcpl.cpl/ordinal 459
« Reply #34 on: August 19, 2015, 07:37:10 AM »
Hi Shane
I have not done a repair install. I had a look at how to do it and it looks too hard.
I called MS just to see if they could help and he accessed my laptop and remotely tried to get IE working. At the end I told him I had my product key and would that help.
When I click on Start/Computer/System Properties and at the bottom of that page there is Windows activation headline. It says Activate Windows Now and Change Product Key. I put in my product key but it said Licence evaluation failed. This is the only place I was putting the product key.
When I try and restore inetcpl.cpl and urlmon.dll files it says too badly corrupted. Can I get these files from somewhere else?
Thanks again
Adam

 

anything