Author Topic: Possible Bug with Windows 8?  (Read 5433 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FlyingHorse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 4
  • Location: LaGrange, GA, USA
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
    • Flying Horse Productions
Possible Bug with Windows 8?
« on: April 30, 2013, 12:48:36 PM »
On my system running Windows 8 x64 (which was a clean install) as well as virtual machines running Win8 x64, I get error messages both in the Scheduled Task log as well as in the Application Event log:

Code: [Select]
###########################
#### Running as System ####
###########################
Faulting application name: TweakingRegistryBackup.exe, version: 1.6.0.0, time stamp: 0x51319d70
Faulting module name: TweakingRegistryBackup.exe, version: 1.6.0.0, time stamp: 0x51319d70
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0014463f
Faulting process id: 0x5b4
Faulting application start time: 0x01ce3d2a09cd82fe
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Registry Backup\TweakingRegistryBackup.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Registry Backup\TweakingRegistryBackup.exe
Report Id: 570ad33c-a91d-11e2-be79-000c299f686d
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

##########################
#### Running as Admin ####
##########################
Faulting application name: TweakingRegistryBackup.exe, version: 1.6.0.0, time stamp: 0x51319d70
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000031
Faulting process id: 0xa8
Faulting application start time: 0x01ce3d2b0060008c
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Registry Backup\TweakingRegistryBackup.exe
Faulting module path: unknown
Report Id: 59d06a04-a91e-11e2-be79-000c299f686d
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Faulting application name: TweakingRegistryBackup.exe, version: 1.6.0.0, time stamp: 0x51319d70
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc000041d
Fault offset: 0x00000031
Faulting process id: 0xa8
Faulting application start time: 0x01ce3d2b0060008c
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Registry Backup\TweakingRegistryBackup.exe
Faulting module path: unknown
Report Id: 5a2ae58d-a91e-11e2-be79-000c299f686d
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

I run the backup on a schedule once per day. As you can see, if I run the task as System I get slightly different errors compared to running with Admin privileges.

Any ideas?  :confused:

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Possible Bug with Windows 8?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2013, 07:16:06 PM »
I wonder if this is the same thing some others are having. Where the backup works but when the program goes to close itself it crashes, thankfully after the backup and only when trying to close itself.

Are you able to run the program manually just fine? And I have seen this on every version of Windows but haven't been able to replicate it.

I think it has something to do with the controls on the window of the program, the people who have it crash have it set to run silently and not show itself, if you have it set to run silent try changing it to run shown and see if it still crashes and let me know. I just need to trace down the part that is crashing and get it fixed :-)

Shane

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Possible Bug with Windows 8?
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2013, 07:20:51 PM »
Also do you have it running from the task scheduler under the system account or current user account?

Reason why I ask is I have mine set to run under the current user and I have it set to have it hide and show the tray icon and I have no errors. I want to mimic how you have yours setup and try it here to see if I can replicate it.

Shane