Author Topic: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)  (Read 21116 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thankfuluser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
 Hi Shane , want to thank you for help last time first.Okay , i mentioned i bought ASUS disks to re-install last time.Well there support said just put in disc 1 then 2 so i didnt do a clean install.Well everything was good until i got a program virus as soon as i went online because the spyware on disks was expired.I couldnt believe it,i was so mad i could have...... Anyway, now i have the same problem with f parameter and ive ran sfc /SCANNOW to many times to mention and also CHKDSK .Now check disk goes fine its sfc says Windows resource protection found some corrupt files it could not fix.Also,no matter how i try to run CHKDSK /f    or /f /i /r / it has to be done on boot i cant do inside windows because of volume being used.I even tried to dismount didnt happen.Also when i try to run CHKNTFS it told me it was write protected ? I have no clue.Can you also show me correct way to write NETMESSAGE HELP 3251 because when i do it i get nothing.Also could not get dism going.I did try bootrec/rebuildbcd everything was going good till this command didnt work.attrib C:\boot\bcd-h-r-s   it said not recognized as command.the only thing i found missing was (C:Windows\sysWOW64\en-us\c8rss.exe.mui) Thanks for any help

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2014, 12:38:59 pm »
Chkdsk /f which means to have it fix problems cant be ran on windows because windows is running onit, so it will ask you to schedule it for next boot which is what you have it do.

You can run chkdsk in read only mode to see if it at least finds any errors. Just run it without any /f or anything else.

chkdsk C:

thats it, and if it finds errors it will tell you.

If you got infected again what did you run to clean the system up?

Shane

Offline thankfuluser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2014, 02:01:47 pm »
Hi Shane, thanks for fast reply.When i run CHKDSK it says couldnt fix some problems, Check CBS logs.When i checked only thing i found was system restore failed to extract file-(c: Windows\System WOW 64\en-us\csrss.exe.mui. That was it. I put in repair disk to see if it would help,did not.I ran up in the restore area, repair start up because i figured when Windows boots it might get file,no good.I did fix Masters file table and Volume Bitmap thats it.Also, when i run tweaking program the Avast anti spyware i have even with shields off seems to block some of the programs repair efforts.Do you need that info ? Thanks again.

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2014, 02:18:07 pm »
Avast can get in the way yes, but the Windows repair wont help on that file.

You need to have chkdsk run at the next boot, use this tool to make that part easier :-)

http://www.tweaking.com/content/page/disk_error_checking_at_next_boot.html

Shane

Offline thankfuluser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2014, 04:38:57 pm »
Shane, thanks for the tool it told me something but i missed it because, it usually takes along time for that system check but not with your tool. Is there anywhere i can find what it said when completed test ? I went away from computer and when i came back test was done fast and i didn't catch enough to know what it said.So, i ran again but got nothing .Then i ran sfc and still corrupt files there.I dont have code to get CBS logs to desktop.Sorry Shane and thanks.

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2014, 04:47:02 pm »
It will be in the event viewer.  :wink:

As for the sfc errors, in Windows 7 it is almost impossible to fix those since MS gave no tool or way to cleanup that mess of a winsxs folder.

They did finally give a tool in Windows 8 to do it. The winsxs folder is the Windows component store.

BUT they did put out an update in Windows 7 sp1 through Windows updates that adds a option to the disk cleanup wizard to remove old files out of there. And I think this command should work for it as well if you have all the updates

DISM /online /Cleanup-Image /SpSuperseded

Shane

Offline thankfuluser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2014, 05:14:06 pm »
To Shane, I turned 58 today friend. lol ,so this will be great i hope this works.I have tried Dism before but not written like this.Ill check event viewer too.Thanks alot for your help ,your time and the programs and tools you make to help old timers.lol Thanks Tim...

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2014, 05:18:33 pm »
Happy birthday and you are welcome :-D

Shane

Offline thankfuluser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2014, 05:34:27 pm »
Okay this is what i got Shane.I tried the DISM/online/cleanup-image/SpSuperseded. i got error 87 Option unknown. In the event viewer i found a few.Here they are. Event 7026 amdkmafd failed to load-Event 7001 net tcp listener adapter failed to start-Event 7003 service control none. Event 46 volmgr none crash dump initialization failed.??? Thanks for the Bday .Tim.

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2014, 12:24:34 pm »
Did you try the disk cleanup wizard and have it do all the options?

Shane

Offline thankfuluser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2014, 04:06:01 pm »
To Shane, i dont know what disk clean up wizard your talking about ? When i put i DISM/online/cleanup-image/SpSuperseded I got an error code back 87 .Also, it said option unknown.Anytime i have tried Dism it hasnt worked for me yet its in my computer because, it tells me to check like the DISM codes and how to use ,but ive never had any luck.Thanks for help.

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #11 on: March 26, 2014, 11:16:00 am »
Go to the start button and then in run put in
cleanmgr.exe

Shane

Offline thankfuluser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2014, 02:18:29 pm »
Shane, thanks i will try that now (cleanmgr.exe) .I have a guestion for you,how do i put permissions on DISM folder ? Is that just right clicking on admin before i open ?
 

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2014, 02:51:47 pm »
Quote
how do i put permissions on DISM folder ?

Not sure what you mean. It is a command you run in a cmd.exe window, which you would open the cmd.exe as administrator :-)

Shane

Offline thankfuluser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2014, 05:36:30 pm »
Shane, okay i meant the DISM/online/Cleanup-Image/RestoreHealth  Command and also ,the one you gave me DISM/online/Cleanup-Image/SpSuperseded . They both came back with error 87. When i put your command in it also said didnt recognize the command line ? Thats what i meant.also said something about permissions ? Okay i ran disk clean up and it got rid of and replaced alot of things in cbs but there where things in log which i didnt bring because its the whole log .For some reason it didnt go to desktop.One was a windows update KB2479943 codepack basic package amd 64 6.1.7601.17514 applicability was a problem and it was skipped.So, i got rid of it.Ran sfc still have corrupted files. Thanks for taking time to teach me Shane i appreciate it.Tim

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #15 on: March 26, 2014, 06:38:06 pm »
Dang, well when the winsxs gets messed up the only way to fix it if those things didnt work is with a reinstall.

BUT we dont need to do a fresh install but instead a repair install, which will keep all your program and settings.

First you need a Windows 7 with SP1 disk (Not one from the mfg) you can grab it here
https://sites.google.com/site/linuxlablibrary/windows-iso

Then just follow this :-)
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/3413-repair-install.html

This will repair the install of windows while keeping all your stuff. :wink:

Shane

Offline thankfuluser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2014, 07:12:12 pm »
Thanks Shane for your help, i have Windows 7 HOME PREMIUM SP1 64 BIT Asus computer. The first site you listed said cant be shown or has been moved ? I checked the bootable first,then the river site and both said same thing???

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #17 on: March 26, 2014, 08:22:39 pm »
Wow every single iso link has been removed and changed on Microsofts side. Why on earth did they do that?

Those links have been good for the last couple of years.

Might just be down for right now, not sure. For now lets wait and see if the links come back up tomorrow.

Shane

Offline thankfuluser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #18 on: March 27, 2014, 09:24:27 am »
lol. Good one Shane, you had me laughing too.Thanks i was able to get from river later on (copy of Win 7 home premium sp1 64 ) X17-58997-iso . Thanks alot for all your time,much appreciated believe me. Thankfuluser.

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Win 7 sp1 64 bit ( same problem again with f parameter not specified)
« Reply #19 on: March 27, 2014, 09:28:23 am »
I am happy to hear the links started working again lol

Shane