Author Topic: trouble installing  (Read 9096 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline shemaya

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
trouble installing
« on: August 22, 2014, 10:34:28 pm »
Hi   Shane
I have run your windows repairer a number of times but keep getting this error message. See screen shot.

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: trouble installing
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2014, 11:08:22 am »
May not be a windows problem, I did a search for that error over at open office and a LOT of people have had that error before. Have you checked overthere to see if someone had an answer for it?

Shane

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: trouble installing
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2014, 01:01:49 pm »
Have you tried installing it while booted up into Safe Mode with Networking ?

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2323
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: trouble installing
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2014, 09:50:33 pm »
Hi, First try to uninstall the traces of older version with revo uninstaller and not merely by the program uninstaller to get rid of traces of programs in the system as well as registry. Then install your 4.1.1 version and if you still get the error and roll back then do this to get rid of the problem. It is by renaming and installing in c drive only.
https://forum.openoffice.org/en/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=63528
 The solution given in the link is reproduced below for easy reference
 I ran the install but when the error popped up I did not click the OK button
2. I renamed C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\OpenOffice 4.0.0\ to ...\OpenOffice 4.0.0-2
3. In C:\Program Files (x86)\, I was not able to rename \OpenOffice 4 because it was “in use by another program” so I created a new folder \OpenOffice 4-2 and copied all the folders and files into it.
4. At this point I went back to the error popup and clicked the OK button which rolled back the installation, leaving the folders I created, of course.
5. I renamed both folders to what they should have been.
6. A bit of a round-about process but it works!
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline shemaya

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: trouble installing
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2014, 12:23:15 am »
Thanks for that. It did not work. I get a new message. See attached.

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: trouble installing
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2014, 08:57:52 am »
What version of windows are you on?

Shane

Offline shemaya

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: trouble installing
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2014, 05:24:30 pm »
Windows 7 Service Pack 1 32 bits

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2323
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: trouble installing
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2014, 10:07:42 pm »
Hi, Please see the thread. The solution for vista may be done, and note the entries in the windows 7 section also. It is a fix by microsoft. Ok.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2525435
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: trouble installing
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2014, 08:52:38 am »
Hi, Please see the thread. The solution for vista may be done, and note the entries in the windows 7 section also. It is a fix by microsoft. Ok.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2525435

That is worth a try since it is the similar reason you are getting the error for open office.

Shane