Author Topic: Remove Dirty Bit Flag  (Read 30138 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline shoes12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« on: April 16, 2012, 04:59:25 AM »
Before using any of the Tweek programs, I was already having an issue trying to run the "check disk" utility in Windows.  Nothing worked.  I tried running it in safemode, using CMD line options, etc.  So, what the heck, thought I would use your tweek that set the Dirty Bit Flag.   Upon restart, it did not initiate the check disk utility either but I thought it was worth a try.  No harm, no foul.  A few days later I attempted to defrag the drive but noticed that my "C" volume wasn't listed.  I believe this is because of the Dirty Bit Flag.  I may be wrong.  Is there a way to remove the Dirty Bit Flag using one of your tweeks?  Thank You.

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2012, 11:50:26 AM »
The only way to remove the dirty flag is to run chkdsk with the fix command.

You havent been able to get chkdsk to run? Does it give any errors?

Shane

Offline shoes12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2012, 04:16:14 PM »
there was no error msg.   whether using tweek to set the dirty bit or using windows"tools" to set up the error check.   upon restart the pc boots up normally, but it doesn't run the error check.  please see the attached results from the "system file checker".   other than doing a reinstall of windows, i'm not sure what else would fix this.   thank you.

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2012, 05:07:49 PM »
This might get it fixed in order to get it running on reboot :wink:
http://www.winvistaclub.com/t50.html

Also have you tried going into the recovery console and trying to run it manually from there?

Shane

Offline shoes12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2012, 07:07:10 PM »
ok.  i will check the vista club link.    not really sure how to manually run it from recovery console.     went to the console but didn't see an option for that.    thank you shane

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2012, 09:09:19 AM »
You just run it from the command window

chkdsk c: /f

Let me know how it goes :wink:

Shane

Offline shoes12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2012, 04:23:18 AM »
well, i tried to run it from the cmd line but didn't work.   i have some dvd's that i made when i got this pc.  i labeled one of them "repair disc" and another "recovery disc".   do you think the repair disc could help in this situation (corrupt system file)?   thanks

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2012, 01:17:35 PM »
Not sure, but before we go that route I want to find out what is happening.

What happened when you tried to run the chkdsk? Any errors?

Shane

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2012, 05:21:23 PM »
I have had this problem before, you have to fix it in the registry. Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager. Beside BootExecute you should have the default (without dirty bit set) autocheck autochk *. I suspect here are extra values in there. I've noticed this can happen when you run programs like smart defrag, O and O defrag etc. with the check disk option in the program set, but for what ever reasons you delete the program after you set the check disk option and that screws up your registry setting.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline shoes12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2012, 05:28:05 PM »
Shane, below is a screen shot of the cmd line.

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\windows\system32>chkdsk c: /f
The type of the file system is NTFS.
Cannot lock current drive.

Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another
process.  Would you like to schedule this volume to be
checked the next time the system restarts? (Y/N) y

This volume will be checked the next time the system restarts.

C:\windows\system32>

Then, when I restarted, it just booted up like normal and bypassed the chkdsk utility.   That's what has been happening regardless of how I initiate the chkdsk utility.   The system file is corrupted.  So unless there is a way to repair or replace that file I don't think it's going to run.  I was hoping that the "repair disc" I referred to in my last reply might be of use.   Thanks

Offline shoes12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2012, 05:37:30 PM »
Chris, are you saying to set that registry entry back to the default to fix the problem?  Or since the dirty bit is already set, will the registry just get messed up again?  Thanks

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2012, 05:40:36 PM »
yes set it to default, restart computer. Then set dirty bit with Shanes program and see if that works.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline chris635

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 442
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #12 on: April 19, 2012, 05:42:27 PM »
Also once you restart, try defragging before you set dirty bit to see if the disk will defrag.


Chris
Physical Science Technician
Avid Motorcyclist

Have a nice day - Chris

Offline shoes12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #13 on: April 19, 2012, 06:07:09 PM »
ok.  I changed the registry to the default.  restarted.   Then tried to defrag, but the C volume doesn't show on the list.   Set the dirty bit again and restarted.   It just booted up normally again.   Well, it was worth a try.   Thanks

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Remove Dirty Bit Flag
« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2012, 09:14:06 PM »
The trick is to get into the windows repair area of Windows and have it dismount the drive when it scans. You cant do this if your running the cmd off the same drive.

I forgot to ask what version of Windows.

If it is 7 boot off the CD and choose repair Windows. From there you can finally run the chkdsk properly :-)

Shane