Author Topic: Repairing Reparse Points  (Read 21341 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline stp59

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Repairing Reparse Points
« on: March 14, 2015, 01:15:23 pm »
Hello,

I installed Windows Repair (All In One) 3.0.0 on a Dell laptop with Windows 7 and ran the pre repairs scan.

Attached is a text file produced after the scan. It showed 66 Reparse Points which I don't know how to fix. The program suggested that I fix the problems before going further and post here for help with fixing.

I've attached the file showing the results of the scan.

Your help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks.

Offline lechim

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Repairing Reparse Points
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2015, 12:16:36 am »
Hi stp59,

Here's what I suggest you do from my very new and limited experience with reparse points.

Using the file of the scan you attached, manually create all the directories  mentioned following "Default Location:".  Try one and rescan to see if the problem for the specific reparse point is cleared.  This should solve your issues. 

Hope this helps.

P.S.: strange that the type of reparse point is never indicated (should be "junction" as I understand it).

Offline sephire93

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Repairing Reparse Points
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2015, 06:42:44 am »
i search about the -Junction- and the solution for this problem is very very complicated

my problem is this:

Reparse Point: (Type: JUNCTION) (Name: Dati applicazioni) (Original Path: C:\ProgramData\Dati applicazioni) (Target Path: C:\ProgramData) (Creation Time: 25/10/2014 19:40:01)
Infinite Loop! Points back to a parent folder. I was able to access the original path folder contents, which means it creates an infinite loop.

Files & Folders Searched: 136.216
Reparse Points Found: 71


how can i resolve?

Offline jpm

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 185
  • Karma: 36
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Repairing Reparse Points
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2015, 10:37:37 am »
It may be because they are old mounted volumes.

Go here:
http://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/973455

and scroll down to the section titled, " Work around issues that occur when you try to back up files". 

That will explain how to find the "junctions" and remove them.


Offline sephire93

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Repairing Reparse Points
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2015, 11:11:47 am »
hi!

Microsoft Windows [Versione 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. Tutti i diritti riservati.

C:\Windows\system32>DIR /AL /S
 Il volume nell'unità C non ha etichetta. (volume C has no label)
 Numero di serie del volume: 0C2A-0215
File non trovato(file not found)



Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Repairing Reparse Points
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2015, 09:07:18 am »
I am going to be working on a repair tool for the Reparse Points. It will be in both the free and pro versions of the program, after all all repairs always have been and always will be free :-)

The Repair Reparse Points shouldnt be too hard to make, it will just be testing that will need to be done. So in a future update I will have that tool added. Shouldnt be too long though, with having the pre repairs scan now, a repair for the Reparse Points is a must. :wink:

Quote
Reparse Point: (Type: JUNCTION) (Name: Dati applicazioni) (Original Path: C:\ProgramData\Dati applicazioni) (Target Path: C:\ProgramData) (Creation Time: 25/10/2014 19:40:01)
Infinite Loop! Points back to a parent folder. I was able to access the original path folder contents, which means it creates an infinite loop.

The reset file permissions repair should fix this one though, it should, not sure with it not being the english folder, but C:\ProgramData\Dati applicazioni should have the everyone permissions set to denied. Since it doesnt the program was able to go into that folder, which then points back to C:\ProgramData, and thus you have a loop now.

Shane

Offline sephire93

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Repairing Reparse Points
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2015, 10:31:06 am »
 So in a future update I will have that tool added. (yes!!)

i have already used: reset file permission. (i'll try for a second time)
but there is an easy way to restore permission of this folder?

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Repairing Reparse Points
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2015, 04:49:42 pm »
Right click on the folder and go to properties, then you should have a security tab. If you dont you might have to do it in safe mode. Then in the security tab you can change the permissions. :wink:

Shane

Offline stp59

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Repairing Reparse Points
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2015, 04:45:19 pm »
Hi..

Thanks for the reply.

I understand that there is an upcoming tool to fix this problem.

However, I did not understand anything about whether there is a suggestion in the rest of what is written for how to fix the problem or what I can do to fix it.

I would still appreciate any help that you can give.

Thanks,

Stan


Offline sephire93

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Repairing Reparse Points
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2015, 09:11:29 am »
HI!
the problem of reparse point is solved  :cheesy:
but now i have new folders totally unnecessary like -nethood-
and these are all visible.
7-8 new folders appeared in my personal folder  :sarcastic:

ok it's not a problem, only a feedback

I think it's due to the fact that my operating system is Italian and corrections in english right?

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Repairing Reparse Points
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2015, 11:05:24 am »
Quote
I think it's due to the fact that my operating system is Italian and corrections in english right?

Most likely, It is impossible for me to cover all the different languages, but the windows OS does have symbolic links for the english ones even in a non english OS.

I need to try and get my hands on a non english version of Windows to test and see.

Shane