Author Topic: VMware fails  (Read 4244 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 278
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
VMware fails
« on: June 23, 2012, 03:19:14 PM »
Hello
I was trying to install VMware with the help of an advisor in another foum.
below is his response;

>>The path in the error message does not correspond  with my pc.

C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\VMware. I think the \VMware step in yours - \Temp - is the directory used during installation. After installation that step is replaced by \VMware

So where exactly is AppData in your setup?

P.S.  I know you separately backup your registry rather than backing up the entire system. Unless you are very clear about the possible consequences of this then if not done absolutely correctly it can lead to the system being in an inconsistent state, which yours appears to be. I'm not saying this is the reason for your current problem, but it just may be.

Do you think he is referring to Tweak's backup causing an unstable path?
Peter

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: VMware fails
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2012, 04:51:15 PM »
Quote
Do you think he is referring to Tweak's backup causing an unstable path?

I dont think so. My program only pulls the path from the system, it doesnt change it.

The appdata folder is on Windows vista and newer under the current user profile. If your on XP it would be under "C:\Documents and settings\<user>\Local settings" :wink:

Shane

Offline peterr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 278
  • Location: MD
  • Karma: 3
    • View Profile
Re: VMware fails
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2012, 11:52:38 AM »
I unchecked 'hide folders' and it was where it is suposed to be.

Could be the reason VMware would not install or would it make no difference??

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: VMware fails
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2012, 08:38:07 PM »
I dont know on their installer. I have never had any trouble with it.

Also the appdata folder is always hidden by default, but the installer would have still seen it :wink:

Shane