Author Topic: Solved - Need help repairing BITS in W7 SP1  (Read 4456 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline southieguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Solved - Need help repairing BITS in W7 SP1
« on: September 07, 2015, 02:23:10 PM »
Can someone please tell me how to repair BITS on my W7 SP1 system?
 My symptom for needing to do so:
 When trying to run Windows update, assume I have 21 to install.
 I run WU on 1 selected update, and it runs successfully.
 If I go back to try 1 more, the update gets in what seems to be an infinite loop.
 One of the svchost.exe's (the host process for windows services) uses up to 99% of my cpu.
 With taskmgr, if I kill that process I get an 800706BE error.

 I have run the M'soft fixit to fix WU and Bits. No joy.
 I have run the tweaking.com tool to fix windows, including the step to fix wu.

 When I reboot, I can do 1 install, and then the same thing happens as described above when I try to do another update.

 Any help would be much appreciated.
 Dick
« Last Edit: September 09, 2015, 01:26:39 PM by southieguy »

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Need help repairing BITS in W7 SP1
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2015, 02:50:30 PM »
Hmmm okay so after you repair Windows update it has to rebuild the software distribution folder that can take awhile. Sit back pour some coffee or tea I prefer tea. Let it run for awhile . It will show the updates after that try downloading then installing them now If it just continuesly hangs on the first download let me know then we can open power shell and call bits to see what it's doing
Julian

Offline southieguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Need help repairing BITS in W7 SP1
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2015, 02:56:34 PM »
Thanks for the reply.  It does take awhile; but then what happens is what I described.
The 1st update I try (I only tried one to see if WU was now working) works. Then if I try another one we go back to what I (as a layperson) am describing as an infinite loop etc.

Dick

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Need help repairing BITS in W7 SP1
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2015, 05:09:52 PM »
Run them all....Then open up an admin console of PowerShell type in import-module bitstransfer then hit enter then after type get-bitstransfer -allusers and hit enter should show everything with bits downloads
Julian

Offline southieguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Need help repairing BITS in W7 SP1
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2015, 05:02:11 AM »
Julian:
Here's what I did:
I have updates to put on in 3 categories: Net, Windows, Office.  I do these 'chunk' separately so that if there's a problem after applying one of the categories I know which group is problematical.
So, following your suggestions about Powershell, I applied all the Office updates.
Then I did the 1st of your Powershell instructions.  That went ok.
When I tried the 2nd one it came back with the verbiage: "not recognized as the name of a cmdlet . . . "

Then I tried the 2nd one again after adding in the word "module" as was used in the 1st command.
That still came back with the same error message.
So I exited out of Powershell

The system wanted to be restarted after applying that 1st grouping of updates.

So, I did that; and here I am.

Dick

Offline southieguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2015
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Need help repairing BITS in W7 SP1
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2015, 12:49:46 PM »
You can close this.  I used a brute-force method to load my updates in 3 separate chunks, running steps 1,2,17 of AIO in between.
Thanks for trying to help me.

Dick

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Need help repairing BITS in W7 SP1
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2015, 01:15:53 PM »
Change the subject to solved on the first post. I'm glad you got it fixed
Julian