Author Topic: Repaired and now new errors  (Read 6089 times)

Offline frankc

• View Profile
Repaired and now new errors
« on: October 21, 2015, 02:12:01 am »
I had a problem with installing new programs and updates turned out to be the windows installer.  I downloaded and ran, in safe mode, the Tweaking.com program.  Now my windows installer appears to be working.  :cheesy:       

But since doing that I have a new problem. :sad:    The cmd.exe sfc.exe and quite a few others will not work.  I keep getting the message, even at startup,   The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000142).  Click OK to close application. Even the taskschd comes up with the cannot start when I first switch on the computer. 

I have tried several things.  Computer>properties>advanced system properties>environment variables it shows Com spec as c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe  which is where the cmd.exe is.   I am not a novice with computers but neither am I any sort of expert.   

I have tried all the tools in the Tweaking Com program.  Run checkdsc  etc   Run several registry checking programs.  Everything points to the computer running well apart from these glitches.

Ohh yes at one time it would not even load into Safe Mode on pushing the selection at F8 so now I go via the MSCONFIG at the run button. 

Any ideas?   My current direction of thought is downloading the MS tool windows readiness tool.  Thats in progress at the moment.  So any ideas fellas?  :)??

Offline Shane

• Administrator
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: Repaired and now new errors
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2015, 08:15:35 am »
My windows repair program is about 95% registry repairs. Normally there isnt ever any problems with files after the repairs. Only time I find users with problems with files is because they had bad sectors on their drives.