Author Topic: ran repair tool - now not administrator  (Read 7313 times)

Offline GMO123

• View Profile
ran repair tool - now not administrator
« on: October 31, 2015, 10:36:53 pm »
Hi.
I ran the repair tool.
However now when I try to update from Windows 8.0 to 8.1 I get the message that my account is not an administrator, though it was before using the repair tool.
It still says that I'm an administrator on my account but, as mentioned above, but I can't do anything as an administrator.

Has anyone else ran into this problem?

Offline GMO123

• View Profile
Re: ran repair tool - now not administrator
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2015, 10:41:44 pm »
"Sounds like the UAC might be messed up.

You can run the permissions repairs for both the registry and files from my windows repair program, you can also try enabling and disabling the UAC. basically just switch what ever way it is now and then switch it back. For some reason that resets it and gets it working normally sometimes."

What is a UAC?

Offline Boggin

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2015, 08:34:33 am »
UAC is User Account Control which will pop up when you are installing programs or using a program that requires admin privileges.

This article shows you methods in which to disable it and perhaps a reboot before re-enabling may be more effective.

http://techzend.com/disable-user-account-control-windows-81/

Offline GMO123

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2015, 02:13:17 pm »
Hi.
I don't have a listing for Local Security Policy.
I have Win 8.0, not 8.1.
I have Windows Home edition that might not have Local Security Policy.

Is there a way to view 'Local Security Policy' in Win 8.0?

Thank you.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2015, 02:40:21 pm by GMO123 »

Offline Boggin

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2015, 02:54:27 pm »