Author Topic: ManageACL_64.exe fault  (Read 13064 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline streetwolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 99
  • Location: New Jersey, USA
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
ManageACL_64.exe fault
« on: June 18, 2016, 06:31:02 pm »
After doing a restore of my registry I always get the following error in my event log.  Do you think the restore is OK even though I got this error?  Running Windows 10 x86-64 Pro TH2.  Backup used VSS.   Used Registry Backup v3.4.1.

----------------------------

Faulting application name: ManageACL_64.exe, version: 1.2.0.0, time stamp: 0x56336288
Faulting module name: ManageACL_64.exe, version: 1.2.0.0, time stamp: 0x56336288
Exception code: 0xc0000409
Fault offset: 0x0000000000043478
Faulting process id: 0x9d4
Faulting application start time: 0x01d1c9c95603f781
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Registry Backup\files\ManageACL_64.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Registry Backup\files\ManageACL_64.exe
Report Id: dd829e37-894e-4962-9afd-f9a2be1dba2a
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
« Last Edit: June 18, 2016, 07:31:05 pm by streetwolf »
Intel Core [email protected] | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 4-512GB Samsung 970 PRO M.2 | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 480GB  SanDisk USB Extreme900 | Windows 10 Pro | FIOS 1Gb

Offline streetwolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 99
  • Location: New Jersey, USA
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2016, 07:30:04 am »
Anyone home?  :smiley:
Intel Core [email protected] | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 4-512GB Samsung 970 PRO M.2 | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 480GB  SanDisk USB Extreme900 | Windows 10 Pro | FIOS 1Gb

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2016, 11:09:53 am »
Hmmm I wonder if its corrupt registry keys that you are reloading...
Julian

Offline streetwolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 99
  • Location: New Jersey, USA
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2016, 11:31:50 am »
Is there a utility that could detect bad keys?  Perhaps the Restore has a debug mode that would list these when run?
Intel Core [email protected] | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 4-512GB Samsung 970 PRO M.2 | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 480GB  SanDisk USB Extreme900 | Windows 10 Pro | FIOS 1Gb

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2016, 05:05:49 pm »
Hmmm let me see. If I can replicate what is happening to you.
Julian

Offline streetwolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 99
  • Location: New Jersey, USA
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2016, 01:49:36 pm »
Is Shane around?
Intel Core [email protected] | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 4-512GB Samsung 970 PRO M.2 | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 480GB  SanDisk USB Extreme900 | Windows 10 Pro | FIOS 1Gb

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2016, 05:19:42 pm »
When I emailed him earlier he said he was out and about on jobs for the next few days.

Offline streetwolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 99
  • Location: New Jersey, USA
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2016, 01:12:17 pm »
I really could use some help with my problem.  :sad:
Intel Core [email protected] | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 4-512GB Samsung 970 PRO M.2 | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 480GB  SanDisk USB Extreme900 | Windows 10 Pro | FIOS 1Gb

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2016, 02:00:50 pm »
Do you have any Windows restore points to try ?

From what I can find on this error, the favourite has been a repair install as it is a registry error, but see if these cmds can do anything with it - they need to be run from a Command Prompt (Admin).

dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

This can appear to hang at 20% but will complete.

Follow that with a sfc /scannow to see if any corruption remains.

If it reports it is unable to repair some files then run SFCFix.exe which will produce a more concise report and can in some instances repair where sfc /scannow failed.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/sfcfix.html


makinero

  • Guest
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2016, 03:46:32 am »
For advanced:
Try to create a crash dump for the application.
Example PATH:
Code: [Select]
C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\CrashDumps

When you have a crash dump file, open it in Debugging Tools and you can see the exception and call stack for the exception, that should help.


Probably you must ensure that the correct space is reserved for the containing structure.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2016, 03:56:48 am by makinero »

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2016, 10:39:58 am »
okay I was talking to Shane he said after you did a restore from a backup check your security tab on your registry hive if manage acl is crashing when restoring all it does is change the permissions on the registry hive files themselves when restoring make sure those permissions are correct the file locations are C:\Windows\System32\config.
Julian

Offline streetwolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 99
  • Location: New Jersey, USA
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2016, 10:50:28 am »
okay I was talking to Shane he said after you did a restore from a backup check your security tab on your registry hive if manage acl is crashing when restoring all it does is change the permissions on the registry hive files themselves when restoring make sure those permissions are correct the file locations are C:\Windows\System32\config.

I fired up a bare bones Windows 10 under a VM and their are differences in permissions.  On my 'real' system I get a message I need read permission for some of the hives.  Is their a script that can set the hives permissions back to what they should be?
« Last Edit: June 29, 2016, 10:58:11 am by streetwolf »
Intel Core [email protected] | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 4-512GB Samsung 970 PRO M.2 | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 480GB  SanDisk USB Extreme900 | Windows 10 Pro | FIOS 1Gb

Offline streetwolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 99
  • Location: New Jersey, USA
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2016, 08:04:03 am »
I ran Windows Repair it it seems to have restored the proper permissions to my Registry Hives.  I'll know for sure if this fixed my problem when I do Registry restore.
Intel Core [email protected] | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 4-512GB Samsung 970 PRO M.2 | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 480GB  SanDisk USB Extreme900 | Windows 10 Pro | FIOS 1Gb

Offline streetwolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 99
  • Location: New Jersey, USA
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2016, 05:05:41 am »
It seems that when I do a Registry Backup it changes the permissions of my hives.  As I stated above Windows Repair appeared to fix the permissions but RB changes them.

btw... support is sorely lacking.  Perhaps everyone is on summer vacation  :wink:.  Does Shane get involved with support anymore?  I just purchased Windows Repair Pro.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2016, 05:09:42 am by streetwolf »
Intel Core [email protected] | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 4-512GB Samsung 970 PRO M.2 | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 480GB  SanDisk USB Extreme900 | Windows 10 Pro | FIOS 1Gb

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: ManageACL_64.exe fault
« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2016, 09:27:45 am »
Shane has been really busy with running his business he is not on vacation at the moment kinda wish he would take a vacation. here check out the newest version of windows repair he has updated it. to fix a lot of bugs that he found. I think this version may help you out let me know. http://www.tweaking.com/
P.S.
sorry I've been out for a couple of days I've had to go get surgery.
Julian