Author Topic: Problem running Windows Repair  (Read 8598 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lebron23413

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Problem running Windows Repair
« on: August 15, 2016, 01:13:37 pm »
Hi,

I need to run Repair_Windows.exe but when i run it as an administrator it loads for 5 seconds or so and then stops but the interface doesn't pop on my screen. I tried running it in safe mode but the same thing happens. Also, when I check in the
processes, Windows_Repair appears and disappears few seconds later. I'm on windows 7.

thanks for your help, I really need to run Windows Repair to repair my computer!
« Last Edit: August 15, 2016, 01:18:02 pm by lebron23413 »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running Windows Repair
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2016, 02:32:56 pm »
Run a sfc /scannow from an admin command prompt to see what that reports.

Offline lebron23413

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running Windows Repair
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2016, 02:45:56 pm »
Is this what you want to check?:

sfcdetails.txt:
http://www.cjoint.com/c/FHpvToRhm4e

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running Windows Repair
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2016, 03:05:53 pm »
Yes, that was what I was wanting to see.

Open a Command Prompt (Admin) and enter -

dism /online /cleanup-image /checkhealth

and if that reports the volume repairable then enter -

dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

This can appear to hang at 20% but will complete, then do another sfc /scannow to see if it still reports corruption, although with a corrupt iexplore.exe I'm surprised you can browse.

If /checkhealth reports irreparable then I suggest you do a repair install.

Did you upgrade this machine or did it come with Win 10 pre-installed ?

If you haven't created Win 10 bootable media then you can do so by downloading the Media Creation Tool (MCT) from https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10

When you get the choice, select download the ISO and to install on another machine.

The program will give you the choice of creating a bootable USB or DVD.

To perform a repair install, boot up Windows, open Windows Explorer and insert the disk.

Double click on the drive when it comes up and it should start the install.

Offline lebron23413

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running Windows Repair
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2016, 03:30:17 pm »
when i type the first command, it says : "the checkhealth option isn't recognize in this context." (or something like that, translation from my french computer)  :tongue: same thing with the command /restorehealth
« Last Edit: August 15, 2016, 03:32:05 pm by lebron23413 »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running Windows Repair
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2016, 03:31:56 pm »
Are you using Win 10 ?

Offline lebron23413

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running Windows Repair
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2016, 03:32:29 pm »
Windows 7* as i said in my initial post  :wink:

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running Windows Repair
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2016, 04:27:03 pm »
Sorry - missed that, the 9600 in Cannot repair member file [l:24{12}]"iexplore.exe" of Microsoft-Windows-IE-InternetExplorer-Optional, Version = 11.2.9600 I mistook for the OS version instead of the IE version - my mistake.

Download SFCFix.exe to see if that can fix it - you can copy and paste its report which will be more concise.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/sfcfix.html

Running the System Update Readiness Tool (SURT) can sometimes repair files - download the one to match your OS version from https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/kb/947821

It is a 533MB download so it's worth selecting Save and then run it from your Downloads folder.

You can find its log in C:\Windows\Logs\CBS then double click on the Checksur one.


Offline lebron23413

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running Windows Repair
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2016, 05:03:52 pm »
Here's the sfcfix.txt:
http://www.cjoint.com/c/FHqaddx5JYe

The SURT is still running, i'll tell you what's up when it's done.

Offline lebron23413

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running Windows Repair
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2016, 05:17:53 pm »
Wow! My first problem which i didn,t even asked you about just got fix by the SURT! thanks a lot !

PS: problem was an error message was popping up when i was launching many games/word, power point, etc... : "can't open your program, gdiplus.dll is missing..."

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running Windows Repair
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2016, 05:27:42 pm »
That's great news.

Try running Windows Repair to see if it will open now.


Offline lebron23413

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running Windows Repair
« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2016, 08:38:04 pm »
it does work, thanks again!

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Problem running Windows Repair
« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2016, 12:32:46 am »
That's great.

You can mark the thread as solved by going to your opening post, click on Modify and add (SOLVED) to the thread title if you don't have any more problems and glad to have been able to help.