Author Topic: Skipped repairs for permissions?  (Read 9621 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FirstAidPoetry

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Skipped repairs for permissions?
« on: January 18, 2017, 05:44:42 pm »
   Skipping Repair.
   Repair is for Windows v6 (Windows Vista & Newer) or higher.
   Current version: 10.0.14393.693

That...sounds wrong, am I missing something? Pretty sure Windows 10 is newer that Vista ;).

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Skipped repairs for permissions?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2017, 06:02:22 pm »
what repair is skipping?
can you upload the repair log?
Julian

Offline FirstAidPoetry

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Skipped repairs for permissions?
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2017, 08:10:59 pm »
I ran the Reset File Permissions (02), nothing else.

System is Win 10 x64 Home.

Log attached.


Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Skipped repairs for permissions?
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2017, 10:38:46 pm »
give me a moment i got a windows 10 machine up and running im going to run and compare ill see what the program is doing.
Julian

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Skipped repairs for permissions?
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2017, 11:14:08 pm »
hmmm I can't recreate this effect I sent Shane an email with a copy of your log. I'm waiting for a reply so in the meantime lets get some info:

First things first is did you run these repairs in safe mode with networking?

Julian

Offline FirstAidPoetry

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Skipped repairs for permissions?
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2017, 01:01:54 pm »
They were run in normal mode, but I absolutely do not mind trying the same process in safe mode both with and without networking, if that helps?

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Skipped repairs for permissions?
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2017, 02:19:20 pm »
the reason being is 3rd party software can stop the repairs from running.  :wink: safe mode the 3rd party software cant stop them.  :cheesy:
Julian

Offline FirstAidPoetry

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Skipped repairs for permissions?
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2017, 02:52:31 pm »
Quite understandable, but it should still not fail a OS version check, which is more or less what the error implies.

Speaking of implied things, I'll take down the server and try running the same operation in safe mode as soon as there's less client load on it. (it's a media server) and see if it makes any difference.

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Skipped repairs for permissions?
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2017, 02:59:04 pm »
you are running on a server? the repairs are not tested or designed to run on servers.
can you open cmd and type this in for me so i can see what it is saying.
Code: [Select]
wmic OS get Caption,CSDVersion,OSArchitecture,Version
Julian

Offline FirstAidPoetry

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Skipped repairs for permissions?
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2017, 03:42:48 pm »
It's just a server, not a server OS by any means. Just regular Windows 10 x64 Home running an FTP and a media server. Meaning, if I reboot now I will hear shouting for cutting of my girlfriend's streaming of our Futurama DVDs :)

Microsoft Windows 10 Home              64-bit          10.0.14393

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Skipped repairs for permissions?
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2017, 04:07:02 pm »
okay hmmmm alright for now im going to wait for a reply from Shane see what he says.  :artist: i'm stumped at the moment and it could be something in the code which only shane has access to lol could be calling windows 10 home wrong.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2017, 04:11:18 pm by Julian »
Julian

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Skipped repairs for permissions?
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2017, 02:24:11 am »
Shane responded back it looks like a minor bug and it looks like your repair still succeeded because it did take 6 minutes.
Shane will fix that bug in the next version. Thanks for posting about it and helping out  :smiley:
Julian