Author Topic: Can't start computer after repair  (Read 6551 times)

Offline rbhabear

• View Profile
Can't start computer after repair
« on: December 29, 2017, 07:36:54 am »
I was search for a program to check drivers because when I viewed YouTube video the screen would go blank for a few seconds.  I went to a site and got a virus.  After this Some programs that used the internet wouldn't load ie. Weather, Todo, Edge.  Thunderbird worked and Internet explorer.  I found this program to try to fix it.  I did the repair for virus infection.  It seemed like it was working for edge because during the process It was now able to connect.  When it was complete it said to restart computer.  I restarted and it won't boot. I have a black screen and if I move the mouse I see the cursor with the blue working circle.  I've tried to restart several times and nothing.  I'm new at all this so hopefully some one can help.
Thanks RBH

Offline Boggin

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Can't start computer after repair
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2017, 08:01:00 am »
Before WR can repair infection damage, you need to get rid of the infection.

If you have access to another machine, create a Kaspersky Rescue Disk and boot up with that.

https://support.kaspersky.co.uk/viruses/rescuedisk

You may need to change the Boot order which you can do by pressing and holding F2 as you switch on.

If you are using an UEFI BIOS then you will need to disable Secure Boot.

Use the cursor keys to move to the Boot tab and use those keys to select the DVD drive then F5 or F6 to move it to the top.

Insert the rescue disk - press F10 to Save and Exit then press enter.

Use the graphics option and probably best to Ethernet connect so that it can update its Definitions.

The scan can take a number of hours to complete.

Offline rbhabear

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2017, 08:23:09 am »