Author Topic: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?  (Read 30012 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2254
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« on: February 06, 2018, 03:16:21 AM »
Hi, Admin, moderators and experts, long time no see.
My system collapsed after i downloaded some latest updates. The first symptom is deaddd slow computer browsing and then ultimate death of pc. It was update regarding meltdown virus, and it just collapsed intel mobos pc, as bolt from Blue, i mean BSOD.
Ok coming to this problem.
This is error No.1014 dns client. On every logon and logoff, the internet light on the modem would turn red, followed by dsl line blinking and then reestablishing the connection.I have tried all sorts of tricks, but could not overcome this error, which for the past few days is annoying. I checked the dsl connection and everything is good.But on every log on and log off, i am seeing the foregoing symptoms of internet loss and gain.
I am enclosing the error logs, so that experts may give the solutions.
The error name resolution for xxx.com timed out, messages .
Please see the last line of the log and ignore others.
Those are the errors, when i tried to solve the error and subsequently corrected thro System Restore
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9374
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2018, 03:42:33 AM »
Hi JR - which version of Windows are you using ?

Win 10 had KB4056892 to counter Meltdown and Spectre whereas Win 7 had KB4056894.

The latter gave me a BSOD on my Win 7 laptop and has since been withdrawn and so far MS haven't released a modified one for it.

However, MS has released KB4058258 for Win 10 to resolve the performance problems caused by 6892 but I hadn't noticed any performance problems on my Win 10 machines and have since installed 8258.

If you are using Win 10 then do a manual check for updates and you should get KB4058258

If you are using Win 10 and you still get DNS problems then there's a cmd you can use to reset your network adapters.

Open a Command Prompt (Admin) and enter -

necfg -d

shutdown /r /t 00

After the reboot, go into Device Manager/View/Show hidden devices and expand Network adapters to ensure your wireless and Ethernet adapters are still showing - if not then redo those cmds and check Device Manager again.

That netcfg cmd is specific to Win 10 and isn't available on earlier versions of Windows, although there are other netcfg cmds that are which you can see by opening a cmd prompt and entering netcfg /?

I downloaded and Saved InSpectre from this article to run it as an admin to disable Meltdown protection but didn't notice any difference in performance even though it said performance was poor on this Intel based machine.

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/id-3625268/date-spectre-meltdown-megathread.html
Tom.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2254
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2018, 04:14:03 AM »
Hi, Thanks for a possible fix. But my computer is having windows 7.
But why this error and internet loss at every log on and log off.
Please give the commands for win 7. I will also try
I tired network fix from AIO tool.
Why it is happening Boggins?
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9374
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2018, 04:37:19 AM »
If you have restored back to before you got that update then it could be either your DNS servers or your router.

I use Level 3's DNS servers as I was having problems with Google's 8.8.8.8 / 8.8.4.4

Level 3's are 209.244.0.3 and 209.244.0.4

I assume you know how to change those on your computer ?

I'd also power cycle the router by turning it off as well as your computer and disconnect all cables for a couple of minutes.

Reconnect the cables then switch just the router on until all of its lights are on and then switch the computer on to see if that has resolved it.

If it's an ISP supplied router then you could factory reset it by sticking something like a darning needle or straightened paperclip in the pin hole on the back of the router until it switches itself off and goes through the reboot procedure.

As ISP routers are pre-configured you would only need to change the channel to what you prefer as well as changing the password back to what you had, as you shouldn't keep the default one.

That may change the external IP address for you but switching the router off etc. as for a power cycle but leave it off for at least 30mins will also change the ext. IP address which can resolve some connectivity problems.

If none of those resolve then I'd contact your ISP for a change of router.

I assume you have your update settings set to Check for but let me choose... ?
Tom.

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9374
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2018, 04:54:36 AM »
There are a couple of cmds you could try and they are -

netsh winsock reset catalog

netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt

shutdown /r /t 00

and then see how things are after the reboot.
Tom.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2254
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2018, 05:25:21 AM »
Hi, The same error continues, and i experience the same disconnect on log on.
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9374
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2018, 05:58:26 AM »
And you've done all that I've suggested including changing the DNS servers in your computer ?

I'm not sure if you have this connection setting in your router but some used to have a Time out setting.

This could be set to On demand or with a Time out of 30mins.

That setting can be changed to Always on and where you just have a minutes setting, change that to 0

Let me know if your router has this setting.
Tom.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2254
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2018, 05:14:49 AM »
Hi, I checked the router settings and it is configured for always and the time is 0.
Before i change the dns servers, could you kindly say, if there is any miss in ipconfig /all i enclosed herewith.
It is one and the same ip, fordhcp srver, dns server and gateway. Is there any wrong in it ,
I left google dns, as it allows foreign dns servers to interfere with my network at times of a day.
It is always better to have your Isp server.
Why , the configured dns servers are not shown in ipconfig, as i have done the same in the router itself.
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9374
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2018, 08:12:32 AM »
When the DNS server setting is set to auto in the computer, the boxes remain blank and will use the ones set by the router, which should then be your ISP's unless you have changed them in the router.

Your ipconfig /all is showing as correct except for the missing Physical and IPv4 addresses - have you removed those before posting ?

ISP DNS servers aren't always the best.

When I use my ISP DNS servers, I'll initially get a yellow alert on the WiFi icon on boot, but don't when using Level3's.

I've attached my ipconfig /all for Ethernet and the default ISP DNS servers.

Tom.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2254
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2018, 11:38:16 PM »
Hi,,Boggins , saw your reply.
But i could see the configured dns in my router, and checking that , it belongs to my ISP
Yes, i removed those things in my reply.
For your information,  i am having wifi modem , i do not know, it routes or not to call it as router. That is connected to he pc with ethernet on pppoe.
Other wifi devices get signal from this router , thro the wifi settings in the router.My router has one wan and 4 lan ports. Wan port has the telephone wire. Ethernet port is connected ot pc.
When i switch on the modem, the modem gets both dsl and internet. Even when my pc is not in use, the wiri signal is passed thro the modem .
When i connect the pc, when those are running, i think that it reallocates the device ip, in which case, it cuts and regain signal. But i found it is weird, as it is configured to get dhcp ips.
I checked internet option, router settings , as well as outer settings in pc.
please provide clues. In the mean time, i will try your 3 level dns
Is it necessary that every log on would induce the dhcp to cut and give new ips to the device connected?
P.S: I tried 3 level dns server , the problem continues
« Last Edit: February 08, 2018, 12:09:31 AM by jraju »
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2254
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2018, 12:16:20 AM »
Hi, Please also see the network adapters, both hidden and not hidden.
Realtek is the network adapter that shows as not hidden
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9374
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2018, 12:52:01 AM »
Your computer's Device Manager wouldn't show a wireless adapter if one isn't fitted but your router is broadcasting a wireless signal all of the time.

I suppose the full name for a one piece router would be modem/router.

In the USA some are still using a separate modem and router where the router provides the wireless.

As you only have the one router, that is a modem/router combo.

When you switch on any device the router will assign it a DHCP IP address, regardless of it being Ethernet or wireless.

Your cable connections are a bit puzzling as in the UK when the broadband comes down the phone line, the cable from the master socket is a RJ11 cable but a WAN is a RJ45 cable which has a bigger plug - similar  to your Ethernet cable.

If your connections are how it has always worked but this is a recent problem, then that set up must be normal for your ISP.

Does Event Viewer have anything for this connection/disconnection ?
Tom.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2254
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2018, 02:34:56 AM »
Hi, You mean the details. Ok, This is the log details
Log Name:      System
Source:        Microsoft-Windows-DNS-Client
Date:          2/8/2018 2:59:32 PM
Event ID:      1014
Task Category: None
Level:         Warning
Keywords:     
User:          NETWORK SERVICE
Computer:      chandru-PC
Description:
Name resolution for the name _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.domain.name timed out after none of the configured DNS servers responded.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
  <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-DNS-Client" Guid="{1C95126E-7EEA-49A9-A3FE-A378B03DDB4D}" />
    <EventID>1014</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>3</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x4000000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2018-02-08T09:29:32.084960900Z" />
    <EventRecordID>24902</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="1276" ThreadID="2284" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>chandru-PC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-20" />
  </System>
  <EventData>
    <Data Name="QueryName">_ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.domain.name</Data>
    <Data Name="AddressLength">16</Data>
    <Data Name="Address">02000035C0A801010000000000000000</Data>
  </EventData>
</Event>
friendly view log
Log Name:      System
Source:        Microsoft-Windows-DNS-Client
Date:          2/8/2018 2:59:32 PM
Event ID:      1014
Task Category: None
Level:         Warning
Keywords:     
User:          NETWORK SERVICE
Computer:      chandru-PC
Description:
Name resolution for the name _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.domain.name timed out after none of the configured DNS servers responded.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
  <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-DNS-Client" Guid="{1C95126E-7EEA-49A9-A3FE-A378B03DDB4D}" />
    <EventID>1014</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>3</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x4000000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2018-02-08T09:29:32.084960900Z" />
    <EventRecordID>24902</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="1276" ThreadID="2284" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>chandru-PC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-20" />
  </System>
  <EventData>
    <Data Name="QueryName">_ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.domain.name</Data>
    <Data Name="AddressLength">16</Data>
    <Data Name="Address">02000035C0A801010000000000000000</Data>
  </EventData>
</Event>
Already the event id is from nirsofter program, which did not have details.
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9374
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2018, 03:30:16 AM »
Can you go to Control Panel/All Control Panel Items and click on Network and Sharing Centre to check if you are part of a Home Group or if your connection is listed as Home network.

If it's the latter, click on Home network and change it to Public - Close

Run a Command Prompt as an admin and enter -

ipconfig /release

ipconfig /renew

ipconfig /flushdns

ipconfig /registerdns

shutdown /r /t 00

and then see if that resolves on the reboot.

You can check Event Viewer after 15 mins to see if that has produced any errors as the /registerdns cmd advises.

Whatever DNS you change the computer to will override the default in the router.

Tom.

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2254
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #14 on: February 08, 2018, 04:00:33 AM »
Hi, Boggins, it was the later Home network. I have issued all commands and on reboot, i get the same results. First on shutdown, all lights were ok. But on reboot, when the windows 4 colour starting appears, the internet light turns to red, a few seconds later dsl is cutting itself and as usual , after few successive blink, the internet light turns to red and immediately to green giving the access.. i checked all settings in the router and found no problem.
In wan ip settings , i could not select the dhcp, as it is default set to static wan ip. is there anything.
I am doubly sure that it is having in assigning the internal address, but could not find the solution for it.
what is home group . If i am using a pc and laptop , should i select home network or home group. please advise.
When i configure, after deleting the entries, i just give vc, vc1, protocol, pppoe,mode,llc,i just give my id and pw to get the pppoe connection of internet access. I just go to wireless to give the ssid and pw to get the wifi connection.
I also wish to inform, that on the dsl stays green, my wifi gets first connection and then the internet lights glows red and greeen. I think i have explained all.please
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9374
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #15 on: February 08, 2018, 04:30:50 AM »
Home Group is for sharing data between machines but Home network is normal for the home user - you can change that back to Home network.

I've always dealt with DHCP, so not sure how a WAN Fixed IP address works - that is set by your ISP.

Have you spoken to your ISP about this error -

Name resolution for the name _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.domain.name timed out after none of the configured DNS servers responded

I'll ask jpm if he has any suggestions for it.
Tom.

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 915
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9374
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2018, 01:38:43 PM »
J, Saw this and thought it may help?

http://www.techlineinfo.com/configuration-guide-of-adsl-wifi-modem-d-link-dsl-2730-u-for-bsnl-and-mtnl/

ISP supplied routers usually come pre-configured and the settings in JR's router differ to those in your linked article - this may be specific to JR's ISP.
Tom.

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 915
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2018, 01:59:37 PM »
From memory J bought the Dlink 2730U himself, not supplied by his ISP, and his ISP is BSNL...Perhaps he can confirm?

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2254
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #19 on: February 09, 2018, 04:37:01 AM »
Yes, Samson, I confirm. I bought , as bsnl router terrycom supplied the router and then vanished without any firmware update. But i configured the router, with BSNL dslam staff.
Hi, samson, Why configured dns servers shown in router, the exact ips are not shown in ipconfig /all. The dhcp, dns, and the gateway all shows my router gateway ip, 192.168.1.1
Is it correct or do have to make some changes.
Moreover i use router check beta, a nice program for the router check. Here , the configured dns server is shown as router ip, and on the details tab, it shows, the owner of the dns as Local Address, What is this. Could you explain. What is the term Local Address refers to?
But the Lilnk given by Samson, is for the older model of the same router, My router is the same having the latest model
The menus are entirelyl different.
Napt is enabled? what is that
I have by-heart the settings, Emptied the already configured data, reset the router, and then enter the vp 0vc1 35,pppoe protocol, channel llc, and then supplied my user id and pw to get internet access
i do not think that there is anything wrong in it.
But modem reboot on every logon is annoying me.
hope to get solution and details
The exact lilnk is this
https://www.meible.com/tutorials/how-to-configure-d-link-dsl-2730u-new/
« Last Edit: February 09, 2018, 04:49:29 AM by jraju »
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 915
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #20 on: February 09, 2018, 05:10:33 AM »

Hi, samson, Why configured dns servers shown in router, the exact ips are not shown in ipconfig /all. The dhcp, dns, and the gateway all shows my router gateway ip, 192.168.1.1
Is it correct or do have to make some changes.
Moreover i use router check beta, a nice program for the router check. Here , the configured dns server is shown as router ip, and on the details tab, it shows, the owner of the dns as Local Address, What is this. Could you explain. What is the term Local Address refers to?



Because you have set the DNS servers on the router and not the PC?, and your router has a local area network address.

I have by-heart the settings, Emptied the already configured data, reset the router, and then enter the vp 0vc1 35,pppoe protocol, channel llc, and then supplied my user id and pw to get internet access
i do not think that there is anything wrong in it.



Not true according to your screenshot, VCI shows "blank" and mode shows "bridging" not PPPoE

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2254
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #21 on: February 10, 2018, 05:39:53 AM »
hi, please see this . That was a general page setting, without configuration
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 915
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #22 on: February 10, 2018, 05:47:04 AM »
OK, that looks correct, but...DHCP should be enabled as you don't have a static IP address do you?

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2254
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #23 on: February 10, 2018, 06:43:48 AM »
Hi, That was the reason for enclosing the previous png.
But i could not eidit that tab? How i do not know.
But there is dns settings in advance settings.
I do not know, why i could not change the static ip over there.
Any clue,
Would this be the reason for the problem
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 915
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: This Dns clinet error problem haunts me. Is there a real fix?
« Reply #24 on: February 10, 2018, 08:56:09 AM »
Does changing from "Auto" to "Specified" enable access to change those settings?