Author Topic: Error in T' Registry Backup  (Read 819 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fuzmic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2016
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Error in T' Registry Backup
« on: January 22, 2019, 09:14:45 PM »
Hi Master

Sometimes in some PC, when i try to do a registry backup, the "Successful" message replaced by "Errors"

Recently it happened in a win7-SP1-PC.

Why so, what can be done to get SUCCESS.  Thank you.


Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9369
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Error in T' Registry Backup
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2019, 12:20:14 AM »
I don't know what the cause could be but I've passed it on.
Tom.

Offline jpm

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 180
  • Karma: 36
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: Error in T' Registry Backup
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2019, 12:44:11 PM »
It could be an issue with your shadow copy service. Did you try selecting the fall back option?

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9369
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Error in T' Registry Backup
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2019, 02:33:39 PM »
I think I experienced the same when I was test running WR 4.4.2 and it did the auto registry backup prior to opening to the repairs.

It said there was an error with an additional message that the program hadn't shut down properly which I didn't understand.

I shut the program down, cleared the cache with CCleaner, rebooted and ran the repair program again where it successfully created the registry back up.

On checking the back ups, the successful one was 149MB with what I assume was the failed one at 86MB.

This was on 1809 so the OS isn't relevant but it's the first time I've seen that error.
Tom.

Offline fuzmic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2016
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Error in T' Registry Backup
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2019, 08:03:34 PM »
Thank you Adm & Moderator

I am using v3.5.3 portable which says "currently using Fallback Backup Method" & only sometime error occur, maybe registry being use

I have not tried "Volume Shadow copy service" in Advanced Setting as it is said to be slow.  Right?
« Last Edit: January 23, 2019, 08:13:49 PM by fuzmic »

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9369
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Error in T' Registry Backup
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2019, 01:34:29 AM »
In the repair program mine was using the default VSS method and has successfully created the back up when I've just tried it.

As a side note, v4.4.2 still isn't physically creating a restore point when that option is used, so it would be best to manually create your own.
Tom.