Author Topic: Windows Repair Pro Question  (Read 6654 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Windows Repair Pro Question
« on: May 26, 2017, 05:54:54 PM »
Is it possible to run Windows Repair Pro with out loosing personal settings
Thanks,
Chuck

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9949
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2017, 01:59:28 AM »
Initially it was defaulting the apps and not putting them back to personal preferences but Shane modified the program so it no longer did that.

I've run the program once out of curiosity and after the reboot I got about 11 pop ups to say various apps had been set to default.

Other than my default browser being set to IE and Adobe Reader for PDFs the rest were already at default - it hadn't changed the two that I'd changed.

The program basically works on system files, but Win 10 is a beast of its own with changes being made through updates.

What personal settings are you concerned about and which version of Windows are you using ?
Tom.

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2017, 12:02:33 AM »
Windows 7
I have a lot of custom settings and the last time I used Windows Repair ( about a year ago It set all of them to defaults and I had to spend a lot of time setting everything back.
Chuck

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9949
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2017, 12:53:10 AM »
All I can suggest is to create a system image onto external media rather than relying upon the auto registry back up and then run the repair program - unchecking the repair boxes that don't apply to your version of Windows.

It has undergone a lot of changes since last year, I think mainly to keep up with the changes to Win 10.

Why do you need to run the program ?
Tom.

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2017, 04:02:23 AM »
Mainly to get Internet Explorer to work.
I spent 2 days trying everything suggested on the net and nothing helped.
That includes running repair Internet Explorer in Windows repair
If I click it it may just not open, or it may open and then close or, it may open.
This is my last resort.
Chuck

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9949
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2017, 05:12:55 AM »
The Anvi Browser Repair Tool may help but go Start - type iexplore -extoff and press enter.

This will open IE without add-ons - you would then hit the home page icon to browse, but what have you tried so far that you have found on the Internet ?

If it runs okay then, you will need to disable all of the add-ons and add just one back at a time unless you spot one that looks odd.

This could have come from something you have recently downloaded and your restore points back to before that install should resolve.

Click on the Tools cog - Manage add-ons and click on each one and select Disable then restart IE where you can go into Manage add-ons and add one at time - restarting IE until it fails to run again.

I'm wondering if something has changed your home page for it to act that way.

Open All Control Panel Items and click on Internet Options where you will be able to check to see what it gives for your home page.

I don't know if the Windows Repair program resets IE to defaults but under the Advanced tab you can select Reset then check all of the boxes.

This requires a computer reboot to effect.

This will default your home page to the MSDN one - usually, where you can enter your home page preference, but it will also get rid of any additional add-ons.

http://www.anvisoft.com/browser-repair-tool.html

For the Anvi Browser Tool, click on the IE icon in the left pane and you will see what repairs it will make, which can be edited.



Tom.

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2017, 12:46:22 PM »
I have tried too many solutions to list them all. Google "Internet Explorer won't start" and you will get a good Idea.
I tried " iexplore -extoff " It opened a blank page which closed after a few seconds.
Most of the solutions you mention I have tried.
I have done a reset in the Advanced tab of Internet Properties
I have no ideas what "Tools cog is.
My home page is still "go.microsoft.com"
I tried  selective startup with inconclusive results.
I will try Anvi browser Repair Tool and see what happens.
Many others have this problem too.
Thanks,
Chuck

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2017, 01:01:53 PM »
I just tried the Anvi Browser Repair Tool.
Installed it and ran it. It listed 17 problems which it said it fixed. I rebooted and still have just a blank page

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9949
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2017, 03:07:29 PM »
When you have IE open, the Tools cog is the second symbol to the right of the home page icon.

Can you open Internet options through the Control Panel and change your home page to www.google.com (for US) or www.google.co.uk and then see if it will stay open.

What and how are you posting ?

If you are using the affected machine, which browser are you using ?

Have you ran a sfc /scannow ?

If you haven't ran a sfc /scannow - let us know what it reports.

Have you checked to see if IE will stay open in Safe Mode with Networking ?

If this has only been happening for a couple of days, using your restore points back to before it started happening may resolve - or have you already tried that as well ?

You've probably already tried this as well and I'm doubtful it would work and it's best to have an alternate browser installed and create a restore point before doing this, but go Start - type appwiz.cpl and press enter.

Click on Turn Windows features on or off and uncheck the box for IE - OK - reboot then go back and re-check the box.

This is the nearest you can get to reinstalling IE as it's part of Windows.
Tom.

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2017, 04:38:32 PM »
I tried changing the home page through the Control Panel.
I cannot access the Tools Cog because there is no home page bar at the top. the page is blank.
I misspelled the Google address and a page opened with a message saying IE could not access the internet. It showed the home page bar etc.
When I corrected the Google address it went back to a blank page???
I use Seamonkey as my default browser.
I have run sfc. that was one of the first things I tried.
IE opens normally in safe mode.
Where would I find "Turn Windows Features Off?
Chuck

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2017, 04:40:44 PM »
I should have mentioned I have no idea how long this has been going on  as I seldom use IE

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #11 on: May 28, 2017, 04:45:06 PM »
I found the Windows Features box and realized I had done this before but I will try again

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9949
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #12 on: May 29, 2017, 12:58:42 AM »
At last, we are getting somewhere.

As it opens okay in Safe Mode then it's either your antivirus program or something in your startup menu.

Go Start - type msconfig and press enter.

Under the Startup tab click on Disable all - Apply - OK then restart to check IE.

If it still doesn't open properly then go back into msconfig and under the Services tab check the box to Hide all Microsoft services then click on Disable all - Apply - OK then restart.

It's a must that you check that box before hitting Disable all.

Depending upon which antivirus program you are using, it may reinstate itself when you click on Apply, so while you are in a clean boot, your antivirus program could still be active.

If IE still doesn't work as it should then it has to be your antivirus program.

If it works okay after just disabling all under the Startup tab, then just check the box on one at a time - Apply - OK - reboot, continuing until IE stops working.

You will need to do the same with the non-MS services if you have to disable those as well before IE works.

If the problem is with either a Startup item or non-MS service, when you have ID'd it, in msconfig under the General tab, click on Normal start up then go back into the section where the problematic item is and uncheck its box - Apply - OK - reboot and confirm that IE is still working.

If it turns out to be your antivirus program, then use its uninstaller and then reinstall as a first step - otherwise you should consider changing your antivirus program.

Tom.

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #13 on: May 29, 2017, 07:35:14 AM »
OKAY!
Following your instructions I have traced the problem to Malware Bytes.
Tried an exclusion of the Internet Explorer folder in Program Files but it still does it.
I posted a message to Malware Bytes Forum .
Thanks for your patience and your help
Chuck

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9949
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #14 on: May 29, 2017, 10:03:54 AM »
That's good news.

Is that the Premium version of MBAM you are using ?

If it is then you can get direct support. - https://www.malwarebytes.com/support/
Tom.

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #15 on: May 30, 2017, 06:17:58 AM »
Yes it is. And "anti-exploit"  was indeed blocking the web sites.
I set an exception and it is fixed.
Chuck

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9949
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #16 on: May 30, 2017, 06:20:41 AM »
I thought you were unable to set an exception ?

I'd mentioned to Shane that you had lost all of your settings when previously running WR and he was wanting to know which settings.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2017, 06:22:23 AM by Boggin »
Tom.

Offline ka6uup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #17 on: May 30, 2017, 07:47:35 AM »
That was too long ago to remember.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9949
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Windows Repair Pro Question
« Reply #18 on: May 30, 2017, 07:53:54 AM »
Okay.
Tom.