Author Topic: WR v4.7.1 fixed Win 10 start menu, etc. but can't re-connect to SMBv1 Server  (Read 353 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Craigar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2019
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Tried to find ideas on this forum but nothing helped. Looked on the web & tried many suggestions, but no luck? Also made sure SMBv1 was still enabled in features, and of course in addition to the mapped permalink I tried just the numeric url of the server i.e. //192.168.1.199 - and it can be pinged - windows net diag says something like "The Remote Device or Resource won't Accept the Connection/The device or resource  is not set up to accept connections on port "The File and printer sharing (SMB) 1" "

Here's a few ideas I tried
https://raspberrypi.stackexchange.com/questions/87906/cannot-connect-to-samba-share-with-windows-10

https://community.spiceworks.com/topic/2113474-can-t-access-shares-on-windows-10-computer?page=2
https://www.tenforums.com/network-sharing/124447-how-share-folders-specific-user-another-computer.html

Thank You
Craig

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9242
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 117
    • View Profile
Have you tried your restore points prior to running the repair program ?

If the dism /restorehealth cmd didn't work on its own, perform that again followed by a sfc /scannow to see what that reports.

The repair program does reset the Permissions but I don't think that will be the cause.

It could have been the Hosts File reset where you may need to add the server's IP address to the Hosts File.

I've never used SMB so only have those links to go by.

A repair install should revert your system where you could set up SMB again from scratch.

A repair install doesn't affect personal stuff or installed programs.

You will need Win 10 install media which you can create after reading https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10

When you've done that, open Windows/File Explorer - This PC and insert the install media.

Double click on its drive which will start the process if using a DVD but will open to its files when using an USB where you would then double click on setup.exe Application.
Tom.

Offline Craigar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2019
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Tom, Thank you for such quick response!

Before I ran WR, I tried a restore point (from 12/17/19, and have only 1 earlier one that I could try now?) ran sfc /scannow, then malwarebytes and rkill & rebooted. No reported errors, rootkits, etc. - but I did not try "dism /restorehealth"  . Then I ran WR v4.7.1 fixed which fixed our problem =Win 10 start menu not dispalying menu (but had right click options), no right clicking on many apps including file explorer, etc.

I only need to be a SmbV1 client to connect to a Solaris 9 file server running a legacy version of Samba. It stopped working momentarily after a WIN10  upgrading around Oct. 2018 I think?- but googled and re-enabled SmbV1 feature and worked fine - and that was still enabled after running running WR .

Also in addition to not being able to access the Samba shared drive , I don't see all the other "workgroup" PC's (in the workgroup named "workgroup", which we started in the XP/98 days back in 2000 - and still have running virtual XP machines (in Oracle virtualbox) that can all see/use Samba shared drive.  I never used/enabled a "Homegroup" in Windows 10 and am glad to see they stopped pushing it on us.

Also completely turned it off, then restart hoping it would want to update a relative driver, but no change.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9242
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 117
    • View Profile
The restore point from the 17th may do the job if it was before you ran WR.

The dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth cmd followed by a sfc scannow has been known to resolve Win 10 Start menu problems and they may also help with the SMBv1 problem, but if they all fail then I would suggest a repair install as I've described.
Tom.