Author Topic: Cannot run Windows Repair due to "Files Not Found Or Corrupted" 3 Eula files  (Read 283 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oran

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Running Win7Pro on Dell Optiplex990.
Missing files are all foreign language Eula files that I shouldn't need.
Where can I get them and where should I place them?

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9930
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Try reinstalling Windows Repair in Safe Mode with Networking and try it again.

What is the reason why you need to run Windows Repair ?
« Last Edit: June 23, 2021, 08:44:36 AM by Boggin, Reason: Typo »
Tom.

Offline oran

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
I have run windows repair in safe mode with networking. Same result. The reason I need repair is I cannot get any logs to show nor will diagnostic policy services start. Plus other anomolies.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9930
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
When WR is corrupt you need to reinstall it, not just run it in Safe Mode with Networking.

You get that error message on WR when there are corrupt files as can be read in your pic of WR.

The reason to reinstall in Safe Mode with Networking is to isolate your antivirus program should that be the cause of corruption.

Go Start - type cmd then right click on it when it comes up and select Run as administrator then type sfc /scannow and press enter to see what it reports.

If it reports it has fixed corruption then try to do what you had tried before.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2021, 02:25:15 AM by Boggin, Reason: Typo »
Tom.

Offline oran

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2019
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
1. I ran sfc (screenshot attached) which shows errors.
2. I looked up the cBS file, but don't know how to interpret it (it is attached).
3. I reran Windows Repair in safe mode with networking & got the same error message shown in the screenshot of my original post.
4. I then downloaded an install version of the latest tweaking Windows Repair.
5. But when I try to install it, I get an error messsage that it cannot be opened (attached).
6. I have verified that tweaking.com is whitelisted in Firewalls Local & Trusted zones.
7. I am having similar problems with other software such as Adobe Reader.
This is very puzzling to me and I thank you for any help.
Oran

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9930
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Run a cmd prompt as an admin and copy & paste this cmd to the prompt.

It will put an icon onto your desktop with an abbreviated sfc /scannow report with what it could and couldn't repair which you can post.

findstr /c:"[SR]" %windir%\Logs\CBS\CBS.log > %userprofile%\Desktop\sfcdetails.txt

Download and run SFCFix to see if that can repair what the sfc /scannow couldn't - it will produce its own log.

https://m.majorgeeks.com/files/details/sfcfix.html

However, it's possible that your machine could be infected.

Before you run SFCFix, boot into Safe Mode with Networking and download and run a scan with the free ESET Online Scanner -

https://www.eset.com/uk/home/online-scanner/

If ESET fails to run then create a Kaspersky Rescue Disk which you boot up with where it will scan your system for malware.

https://www.kaspersky.co.uk/downloads/thank-you/free-rescue-disk

After the scan, perform another sfc /scannow before you download and run SFCFix.

Let me know how you get on.
Tom.