Author Topic: Technician license key not accepted ???  (Read 1240 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mwmccune

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2021
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Technician license key not accepted ???
« on: August 03, 2021, 03:56:02 PM »
Purchased the Technician version of Tweaking (Order #15896689). Downloaded the trial version and it installed normally and it is running but fails repeatedly to accept the key provided in the purchase confirmation email to trigger the upgrade. The splash screen lower right asks to provide the key and register the program; that field label though refers to the Pro version, not the Technician version. I am supposing that the Technician version should register anyway.

What am I missing???  Thanks, Mike

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10160
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Technician license key not accepted ???
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2021, 12:58:50 AM »
I assume you are referring to the Technicians Toolbox and not Windows Repair ?

https://www.tweaking.com/content/page/tweaking_com_technicians_toolbox.html

Each have a Pro licence option which should register to give you the Pro version.

I'll pass a link to your thread to one of the forum's admins who should be able to sort this for you.

Offline mwmccune

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2021
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Technician license key not accepted ???
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2021, 02:51:24 AM »
Thanks for the speedy response.
The program purchased was Windows Repair 2021 Pro v4 - Individual Yearly Tech License, @ $64.95.
The key I received was xxxxxxxxxxxx199.

Thanks again, Mike

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10160
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Technician license key not accepted ???
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2021, 03:01:43 AM »
Thanks for that info.

There are only two versions of the program - free and Pro.

There isn't a Tech version.

Has the product key registered to give you the Pro version ?

You should see it displayed as the Pro version as does mine.


Offline mwmccune

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2021
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Technician license key not accepted ???
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2021, 01:32:30 PM »
Thank you for the speedy response again. And thanks for the clarification regarding the Tech license. I understand now that 'Tech' does not refer to a different version but refers to the scope of the license for the Pro version. Thanks.

OK. Tried this on my laptop and the key worked as expected. The Pro version is enabled.

BTW, on a very troublesome desktop--one that had two veteran admins tearing out their hair--Tweaking seemed to find a hundred or more issues and corrected or reset them. The problem was extremely slow response (e.g., MINUTES to open an Explorer window) even after boot and no apps running and after thorough checks on the disks, scannow, memory, cpu, Dell diagnostics, etc.

Tweaking found numerous path and environment variables missing or corrupt, among a great many other things.

So, now at least, that desktop has the snappy response of a new machine. And we were looking at a complete rebuild as the backup ISOs kept failing.

And I love Tweaking's general interface and overall process. Great job!

Thanks again, Mike  :smiley:

« Last Edit: August 04, 2021, 01:36:16 PM by mwmccune »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10160
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Technician license key not accepted ???
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2021, 02:33:47 PM »
That's great news.

Now that your machine is as near pristine as you can get, it may be prudent to create a system image onto external media and a system repair disk to boot up with in order to restore from that image.

Prior to running a sfc /scannow it's best when using Win 8/8.1 or Win 10 to run this dism cmd first and then run the sfc /scannow.

dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

That should report as completed successfully.

A sfc /scannow has been known to report that it has found corruption and repaired it all after that cmd, unlike just running a sfc /scannow first for it to report no integrity violations.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2021, 02:40:27 PM by Boggin, Reason: Typo »