Author Topic: change in new version of WR...  (Read 8411 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline friedmonky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 89
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
change in new version of WR...
« on: November 28, 2011, 01:06:07 PM »
Hey Shane,

Why did you change those 4 service defaults to auto in the new version of WR?  Shouldn't they be manual by default?

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: change in new version of WR...
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2011, 01:09:36 PM »
Had 4 people email me (Pretty mad to) That thier media services wouldn't work. (They didn't know how to turn them back to auto)

Turns out that when you use the media in windows it changes them from the default of manual to auto.

I tested on my machine and found that windows did change them to auto. And having them to auto seems to not hurt anything. So I had to go with that to cover the people who use those services. :wink:

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline friedmonky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 89
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: change in new version of WR...
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2011, 03:00:11 PM »
What media in windows?  I just opened up Windows media player - those services are still on manual.  I then opened Windows Media Center - same thing, those services are still set to manual.  This is on Win7 by the way.

edit - I don't even have the Windows Media Center Service Launcher service.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 03:02:50 PM by friedmonky »

Offline friedmonky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 89
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: change in new version of WR...
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2011, 03:06:36 PM »
Those services are supposed to work in manual.  That's why that is their default state.  :confused:

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: change in new version of WR...
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2011, 03:20:17 PM »
No I checked. When you enabled the streaming and sharing in the media center it changed them to auto.

The people who had them set to manual could no longer stream to other devices or share on their network from media center, such as their xbox and other computers.

When the services where put back to auto and running everything worked.

I tested on mine (Windows 7 64 bit) and when I setup the sharing the services where changed.

Media extender is what changes it.

Shane
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 03:23:12 PM by Shane »
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline friedmonky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 89
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: change in new version of WR...
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2011, 03:25:21 PM »
That's strange, Media Extender Service is set to disabled by default. Now I'm really confused... :confused:

Offline friedmonky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 89
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: change in new version of WR...
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2011, 03:29:34 PM »
This kind of defeats the whole purpose of the "setting all services to default" thing to me.

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: change in new version of WR...
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2011, 03:29:58 PM »
Same here. I dont use it myself. But when I had multiple people ticked that it wouldn't work any more I worked with them to find out. They confirmed that the services have to be on auto in order to work.

Quote
It's win7 it changes it to auto when you set the whole thing up

Sent from my Rotary Phone

On Nov 15, 2011, at 7:38 PM, Shane <shane> wrote:

> Did you have to change it to automatic or was it already set to auto? Also what version of windows?
> --
> Take care.
> Shane
>
> On 11/15/2011 4:34 PM,  O. wrote:
>> Yes because I use the xbox360 as a media extender. If it it turns them off or to manual I would not be able to connect.
>> Sent from my Rotary Phone
>>
>> On Nov 15, 2011, at 7:31 PM, Shane <shane> wrote:
>>
>>> When it is unchecked the program puts them back to windows default. It is a way for users to put them back, turn the tweak on and off in a sense. I am wondering if I should change that.
>>>
>>> Where they set to automatic on your system?
>>> --
>>> Take care.
>>> Shane
>>> On 11/15/2011 4:29 PM,  O. wrote:
>>>> I guess they were changed to manual but I had the entry unchecked which should not change them at all.
>>>>
>>>> Sent from my Rotary Phone
>>>>
>>>> On Nov 15, 2011, at 3:04 PM, Shane <shane> wrote:
>>>>
>>>>> I just checked on my system. When the windows media center services tweak is checked this is done
>>>>> The following 5 services are disabled:
>>>>> Windows Media Center Extender Service
>>>>> Windows Media Center Receiver Service
>>>>> Windows Media Center Scheduler Service
>>>>> Windows Media Center Service Launcher
>>>>> Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service
>>>>>
>>>>> When it is unchecked it sets them back to manual.
>>>>> According to here they should be set to manual by default
>>>>> http://www.blackviper.com/2010/12/17/black-vipers-windows-7-service-pack-1-service-configurations/
>>>>>
>>>>> What exactly is happening with yours?
>>>>> --
>>>>> Take care.
>>>>> Shane
>>>>> On 11/15/2011 9:46 AM,  O. wrote:
>>>>>> Even though the Windows media sharing services are unchecked it still deletes the "Window Media Sharing Service" and the "Windows Media Extender" services.

This was one of the emails for the simple performance boost program. I removed his name to be safe of course.

Shane
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 03:31:36 PM by Shane »
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: change in new version of WR...
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2011, 03:30:51 PM »
This kind of defeats the whole purpose of the "setting all services to default" thing to me.

Not really. It just happens to be a service that windows decides to change. The safe bet is to have it enabled otherwise it would break things for those users. And for people who cant get their Windows media sharing working this would fix it.

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com

Offline friedmonky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 89
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: change in new version of WR...
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2011, 05:14:31 PM »
I believe you, don't get me wrong.  It's just really weird the way it is set up.


Offline Shane

  • Top Geek, err uh Dog.
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9274
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 136
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: change in new version of WR...
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2011, 05:40:17 PM »
Tell me about it lol

Shane
PLEASE EDIT YOUR TOPIC AND PUT (SOLVED) IF YOU ARE ALL FIXED.

(My weekends belong to my wife and kids, I will try my best to answer all posts daily during the work week)

(About Shane)
Site Owner, Top Admin, Lead Programmer, Wife & 5 kids, Needs a lot more coffee.

When people ask "Why fix what isn't broken?" I reply "To make it better."
"Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile"
Honor & Respect is all that matters.

Owner & Programmer of: www.pcwintech.com & www.tweaking.com