Author Topic: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline  (Read 6230 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 234Aproko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« on: April 13, 2017, 12:43:14 AM »
Hi.

My win 10 started misbehaving a day ago after booting to the desktop, it will give an error msg & suddenly go off. Even in safe mode GUI.

It took a while, but I was able to track it down to bad sectors (248kb) on my hard disk. Now, d damage is already done & I don't  want to reset my windows installation: I have some legacy software I don't want to lose.

Running repair_windows in the win 10 command line using the portable version is giving this error: This version of ..\..\repair_windows.exe is not compatible with the version of Windows you are running. Check your computer's system information and then contact the software publisher.

How do I get to now run the repairs ?

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7567
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2017, 01:00:31 AM »
I wouldn't bother trying to run any repairs - instead back up your system asap before your hard drive finally goes.

Once it gets that many bad sectors it's a quick downward spiral from there.

Offline 234Aproko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2017, 01:21:02 AM »
I have already ordered for a new hard disk. I want to clone my existing disk with that.  It is on d new hard disk that I want to carry out the repairs.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7567
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2017, 01:35:04 AM »
Do you have Windows installed on that disk as it needs Windows to run.

Offline 234Aproko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2017, 01:46:08 AM »
My existing disk has d penultimate win 10  update (Mar 2017) running until this error.

By the time I clone to a new HDD, I want to repair instead of refreshing the windows on d new disk while using d old disk as a backup disk.

That is what I want.

Thanks.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7567
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2017, 01:55:29 AM »
With the amount of corruption on the old disk to the point where it is crashing even in Safe Mode would make any repairs impractical as the corruption would quickly spread because of the rapid deterioration of the old disk.

All it will be good for soon is as a door stop.

The best you could do at the moment is to run a chkdsk /r but because of the amount of corruption, that could take a while to run and data could be lost anyway.

Offline 234Aproko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2017, 01:59:57 AM »
I have run sfc /scannow. Up to 100℅. No corruption to system files. I have not been able to run Diism.exe.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7567
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2017, 02:06:05 AM »
A sfc /scannow just checks system files - what does a chkdsk /r report ?

To view its report, open Event Viewer - expand Windows Logs - click on Applications/Action/Find then type chkdsk or wininit into the Find box and press enter.

Cancel the Find box and read the report in the scrollable window.

Offline 234Aproko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2017, 02:39:40 AM »
Will get back to you in d next 50min. Presently doing chksk /r on C.. It is a 500GB HDD, partitioned into 74, 100, 125 & 165GBs. Windows is in d 1st partition. My sensitive data are on d other partitions.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7567
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2017, 02:40:54 AM »
Okay.

To run a chkdsk on the other drives, enter chkdsk x: /r where x is the drive letter.

Offline 234Aproko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2017, 03:20:06 AM »
I have started running chkdsk /r on d other partitions. Will feed you back once I am through. Meanwhile, I am unable to load event viewer. I tried this commands: eventvwr, eventvwr.msc and no show.

Chkdsk c:/r reported 240kb in bad sectors.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7567
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2017, 03:22:45 AM »
Is Event Viewer not available as an option when you right click on the Start button ?

240KBs of bad sectors in C: isn't good.

Did it say if it had repaired any files ?

Offline 234Aproko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2017, 03:26:24 AM »
I used the win 10 recovery environment, troubleshooting & open administrator command prompt.

No repairs was made .

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7567
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2017, 03:28:24 AM »
Ah - when you run a chkdsk /r in that mode a report isn't written to the Event Viewer.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7567
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: unable to run v3.9.27 in win 10 safe commandline
« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2017, 03:59:31 AM »
I'm going to have to go for a while but will be back later.

While you are waiting for the new HDD to arrive, do you have any DVDs that you can use to create a system image onto ?