Author Topic: Cannot see Port error in Bitcomet  (Read 1977 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rhuffman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Cannot see Port error in Bitcomet
« on: November 19, 2017, 09:16:17 PM »
Hi guys, got a problem, I installed 3 different VPN free softwares and I could not get any of them to work so I un-installed them and ran ccleaner to remove what was not removed and deleted references to the programs in the registry. Now when I load bitcomet it says "Can not listen to port 25615, (25615UDP)" I am dual booting with windows 10 so I booted into 10 and installed bitcomet and it works fine. So the vpn software has screwed up settings for bitcomet, I checked windows firewall and it is being allowed to send data out. Am stumped.(:

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7565
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot see Port error in Bitcomet
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2017, 01:48:09 AM »
I'm not into Torrenting or VPNs and you probably know what's in this article, but apparently you can change the listening port - would that resolve your problem ?

http://wiki.bitcomet.com/understanding_bitcomet

You can check to see which ports are blocked by using the steps in this article - it could be a router thing and resetting that may resolve.

http://smallbusiness.chron.com/see-ports-blocked-router-68940.html

I can ask for advice on this if you need more help.


Offline rhuffman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot see Port error in Bitcomet
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2017, 02:26:48 AM »
I think the VPN software screwed a setting in my windows but for the life of me I cannot figure it out. Like I said when I reboot into win 10 and load bitcomet it works fine (dual booting). And all of the computers in house work fine, just my windows 7 bitcomet not working, any other torrent program on the windows 7 works fine.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7565
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot see Port error in Bitcomet
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2017, 02:32:26 AM »
Does it work in Safe Mode with Networking - you may need to use msconfig in Win 7 to get into that mode if you are dual booting between Win 7 and 10 - something else I'm not into :)

Offline rhuffman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot see Port error in Bitcomet
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2017, 04:06:21 AM »
Will try that, am running shakes app right now and iy looks like it will not be done until mid morning

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7565
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot see Port error in Bitcomet
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2017, 04:24:48 AM »
I don't know what that is but it doesn't matter.

Offline rhuffman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot see Port error in Bitcomet
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2017, 04:26:23 AM »
I mean Shane's app that he wrote, darn auto correct on my MAC

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7565
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot see Port error in Bitcomet
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2017, 04:47:27 AM »
I normally refer to that as WR - Windows Repair.

I wasn't aware that it would run on OS X or whatever it is now.

Offline rhuffman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot see Port error in Bitcomet
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2017, 11:56:56 AM »
No I am running it on the Windows 7 partition on my I7 PC

Offline rhuffman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot see Port error in Bitcomet
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2017, 09:58:23 PM »
Well Shanes Windows repair fixed the port problem, thanks a lot Shane :)

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7565
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot see Port error in Bitcomet
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2017, 03:45:13 AM »
That sounds like a result :)

 

anything