Author Topic: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD  (Read 2364 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dave009

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Location: New Jersy
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« on: November 20, 2017, 05:47:57 AM »
Hello ALL! I have been using this tool for eons it seems and it really does wonders...

So I am on Win 10 and have tried a number of ways to get my friends HDD to run AIO as an external drive.

It's a 3.5 running win 7 So just short of swapping out one of my HDD and changing the boot menu I am looking to fix it with AIO externally.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

I am sure this has been discussed in here before but as the newest guy I'm not sure of how to get this issue to come up as a search result.

Thanks much for taking the time to look and offer suggestions.
Have a great Day!
Dave Castle

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7565
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2017, 06:03:23 AM »
If you can plug it in and it gets a drive letter, then open a Command Prompt (Admin) and enter chkdsk x: /r where x is the drive letter.

This will run in the cmd window without the need for a reboot to dismount the volume, but if the HDD has bad sectors then it needs imaging ASAP so as to load onto a new HDD.

However, Windows needs to be booted up on the drive for the repair program to run so you won't be able to run it remotely.

Offline Dave009

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Location: New Jersy
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2017, 06:10:02 AM »
Thank you Boggin!

Yes it shows up with a drive letter I tried chkdsk x: /r and got no results.

I'm guessing I need to make and image of the disc , then format and reinstall win 7 on it for my friend...

Does that sound about right and who's imaging software do you guys like?
Have a great Day!
Dave Castle

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7565
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2017, 06:18:38 AM »
Did you use the drive letter instead of the x ?

When I plug an ext. drive into this laptop, it comes up as Drive E: so the cmd for that would be chkdsk e: /r

EDIT - I'd put the HDD back into the Win 7 machine to see if it will boot after running the chkdsk, providing it isn't too far gone with bad sectors.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2017, 06:24:49 AM by Boggin »

Offline Dave009

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Location: New Jersy
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2017, 06:29:18 AM »
Funny you should mention that yes I put the wrong drive letter in earlier this am just ran it now
and got the results but they jump off the screen so fast I can't read them :-)

I would but he sent this over from Oregon....

Would it be wise to put it into my tower [5 HDD] and make it the boot drive to test it?
« Last Edit: November 20, 2017, 06:34:54 AM by Dave009 »
Have a great Day!
Dave Castle

Offline Dave009

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Location: New Jersy
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2017, 06:32:15 AM »
so as far as I can tell no major issues there.

too fast ...
Have a great Day!
Dave Castle

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7565
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2017, 06:51:40 AM »
It should have stayed on the screen.

I ran a chkdsk e: /r on my ext. HDD and it was taking ages.

Try the chkdsk again but change the parameter to /f

That should still report if there are any bad sectors.


Offline Dave009

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Location: New Jersy
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2017, 06:57:37 AM »
Thanks Boggin I'll try that didn't see any bad sectors in the 1st paragraph..

I also click the mouse in the cmd window and got it to freeze till I hit back space but still
the last sentence hits the screen and it closes I'll try /f now...
Have a great Day!
Dave Castle

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7565
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2017, 07:02:43 AM »
You could also try the cmd fsutil dirty query x: using your drive letter instead of the x

Offline Dave009

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Location: New Jersy
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2017, 07:10:06 AM »
I also double checked and I had only been running the /f command so I am running /r now and yes it is creeping along.
Have a great Day!
Dave Castle

Online Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 7565
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 109
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2017, 07:22:29 AM »
Good - hopefully that will sufficiently repair any corruption.

I don't think it will boot in your machine as the licence is tied to your friend's computer, plus there will be a difference in the drivers to the hardware you have in yours.

Offline Dave009

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Location: New Jersy
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2017, 07:30:44 AM »
Yes Thanks Boggin, it makes sense that loading it in here [main business reliable computer] might be a cluster bomb of eff's
I'll go check the chkdsk
Have a great Day!
Dave Castle

Offline kk159

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2016
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2017, 04:05:06 PM »
I would back up the data before running chkdsk

/r checks for bad sectors and it's a lot of read actions, much slower than /f.  If the hdd is about to fail, a chkdsk /r may fail the hdd

Check your hdd SMART data and see if there is anything funny

When running chkdsk on an external device, use diskpart to obtain the correct drive letter

If your hdd is Seagate, I would suggest using SeaTools
« Last Edit: November 24, 2017, 04:07:58 PM by kk159 »

Offline Dave009

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 8
  • Location: New Jersy
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: trying to run AIO on a known corrupt HDD
« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2017, 04:04:54 AM »
Very Good Tips kk159 thank you!
Have a great Day!
Dave Castle