Author Topic: WMI Repair Tool  (Read 37149 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
WMI Repair Tool
« on: April 09, 2014, 04:23:46 pm »
I was wondering if it is working. When I start it the DOS windows open and a lot of info scrolls in the the window then it the log says the repair time (please see the attached screen shot). My question is why is there a "STOP" button? Is it done or is it still working in the background?

RocketNut

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2014, 02:00:04 pm »
oops!

Thanks for letting me know the stop button wasnt changing back the text to start when it was done :-0

I will get that fixed.

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2014, 04:51:15 pm »
Your welcome.

I have a desktop gadget (System Monitor II) reporting "broken WMI" even after running you WMI Repair APT. I'm having lots of problems with my machine. Yes I have ran your All In One APT with out success.

I am very open to any suggestion you have. Yes I have reinstalled the OS also with out success.

RocketNut.

Offline parkd1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2014, 09:46:33 am »
You might need to do a fresh install of Windows. I have had Windows that bad only a fresh install would fix it. I use the as the last option when nothing else works. Just back up the whole drive before you do it so you have you stuff to reload. Wait for Shane to reply to see if he can help.

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2014, 11:09:08 am »
Odd on WMI. My repair deletes and rebuilds the wmi. The only time I have seen WMI not get fixed from it was when the COM+ on the system was corrupt and WMI and a lot of other things would fail or get permissions denied errors. When COM+ goes, normally only a repair or fresh install can fix it.

What version of Windows are you on?

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2014, 11:40:04 am »
I'm using Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit, on a Acer 7560-5b416 LapTop (AMD A6 APU)with 8G memory What is COMM+? I'm also get the zebra (formly blue screen) of death.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2014, 11:43:23 am by RocketNut »

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2014, 11:42:04 am »
Well a repair install would be a good step since it lets you keep everything.

All you need is a Windows 7 SP1 disk, which you can grab here
https://sites.google.com/site/linuxlablibrary/windows-iso

And then just follow this
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/3413-repair-install.html

Com+ is under the control panel, admin tools and then Component Services :wink:

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2014, 12:02:10 pm »
I just checked and I do have SP 1 installed. I check out the web site you suggested but do not understand the instructions :confused: I really don't want to do a complete reinstall of the OS because I have a few programs that are old and out of business. Unless I can reinstall them from the backup. 

I looked at the COM+, but I do not know what to look for.
RocketNut

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2014, 12:05:23 pm »
Quote
I really don't want to do a complete reinstall of the OS because I have a few programs that are old and out of business. Unless I can reinstall them from the backup. 

Thats why I said do a repair install, not a fresh install. A repair install is like doing an upgrade to the same OS. So your programs and files are kept.

Just follow the instructions 1 step at a time. Once the install is going it is pretty easy.

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2014, 02:44:40 pm »
I can not find a download for my machine at the web site you linked me to. Also what is "ISO"?

Sorry for all the trouble :shy:

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2014, 12:07:22 pm »
Some one has pointed me to a  ISO file (X17-58997.iso). I downloaded (3.09G in size). the file and extracted to a first a USB external hard-drive and got an error 0x80070241. So I tried again with a USB flash drive and got the same error. I followed you link to the "SevenForums" and followed there instructions. So what am doing wrong?
RocketNut
« Last Edit: April 13, 2014, 12:30:17 pm by RocketNut »

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #11 on: April 14, 2014, 09:44:58 am »
I ISO file is a disk image.

You use programs like imgburn to burn that image to a dvd, the image includes the needed boot sectors to make the disk bootable. There is also a USB tool to extract the ISO to a USB and make the USB bootable.

So what exactly did you try?

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #12 on: April 14, 2014, 11:48:44 pm »
I got ISO to work some what but when the repair install was done a message poped up saying the install did not update properly, then it return every thing back. I extracted the ISO file to a flash drive ( in new dir). Then I ran the setup.exe file. I could not make a DVD image because there is some thing wrong with DVD? :sad:.

Now I have a new problem.  The repair messed a program, so I tried to reinstall it but an ERROR 1324 (please see attached screen shot). I looked up this error on the web and found out this a REG error. So ran the "All In One" program with out success. Does any one out there know how to fix this error? I need this ASAP because it cations CAD data info.
RocketNurt

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #13 on: April 15, 2014, 09:59:45 am »
I forgot to mention when I ran the All In One I notice that some of the reg tests had with over 1,500 errors  :shocked:

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #14 on: April 15, 2014, 10:05:16 am »
Looks like the path set for the 32 bit program files folder is messed up, or the folder name is different for some reason, never seen that before so we should look at that.

Open Computer and then open the C: drive. Does it have Program Files (X86)?

If so I will have you check the registry path for that next.

Quote
I notice that some of the reg tests had with over 1,500 errors

What reg test was that and what where some of the errors?

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #15 on: April 15, 2014, 10:24:36 am »
The attached screen shots are of Program Files and Performance Info.
 As for what test that came up with errors, Was in the first 2 test (using default settings). Is there a log some where I could send you? The errors flash by so fast I could read, the only thing I could read was the number of error.

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #16 on: April 15, 2014, 10:35:45 am »
Dont know where the logs are for the system test for a performance score, I never pay attention to those lol

OK I want you to open a cmd.exe window and in there type in

cd %ProgramFiles(x86)%

and then hit enter. Post a screen shot of what you get. I attached an example from my system. :wink:

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #17 on: April 15, 2014, 11:38:40 am »
OK here is the screen shot you asked for. :smiley:

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #18 on: April 15, 2014, 11:45:57 am »
And just to clarify you are on 64 bit Windows correct?

Shane

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #19 on: April 15, 2014, 11:50:07 am »
Also post a screen shot of this section in your registry. I want to compare it with the picture I attached.

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #20 on: April 15, 2014, 12:00:52 pm »
 :smiley:

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #21 on: April 15, 2014, 12:05:22 pm »
After I posted the screen shot I compared yours with mine and find one that didn't match please see screen shot..

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #22 on: April 15, 2014, 12:09:14 pm »
They look like they match to me lol.

OK so the variables are there, yet cmd.exe cant pull the path and the libre office installer is pulling strange charters when trying to get that path.

Something in the system is very wrong that is for sure. We need to do the repair install of Windows.

You can use the Windows USB tool here
http://www.microsoftstore.com/store/msusa/html/pbPage.Help_Win7_usbdvd_dwnTool

This will let you make a usb drive bootable from a iso file :-)

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #23 on: April 15, 2014, 02:53:39 pm »
I'm going to rerun the repair install right aftern I post this. I was doing to make a screen capture video to show the errors I was seeing. As I was making this video I noticed a lot of file denied access of my anti virus (AVAST), even after I deactivated it. So I uninstalled it an rerun your program, there was no errors!!!!! :confused: :confused:  So I will rerun the repair install (before reinstalling AVAST) to see what happens.

I will kept you informed on what happens.

RocketNut

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #24 on: April 15, 2014, 03:41:30 pm »
Looks like the current version of Avast is getting in the way of things even when it is turned off. yet another reason why I dumped avast lol

Shane