Author Topic: WMI Repair Tool  (Read 36676 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2014, 02:47:15 pm »
Walking out to flag pole with white flag. I guess I am going have use this this version and hope for the best.
4 downloads of ISO file with out success (ERROR 0x80070241). I think it's WFI connection. I'm using a USB dongle for my internet connection, and repair will not run with out it..

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #26 on: April 18, 2014, 09:13:16 am »
Ah so you are having trouble getting the download finished because of the wifi connection.

You may have to use a download manager that can resume a broken download.

Or if you ever get the chance use a different internet connection, if possible :-)

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #27 on: April 18, 2014, 09:27:36 am »
It's not the down load,the download work's with out errors. I'm using a download manager (IMG Download Manager. The errors comes when the repair install start copying files. It get up to about 10% the error pops up.  Yes I erased/formatted  the flash drive on each try.

RocketNut

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #28 on: April 18, 2014, 09:53:48 am »
Ah so the setup gets to the point of copying files to the hard drive and then gets an error.

I did some look ups on that error and for some the error was caused by a bad section in memory and for others they needed to make sure to run the setup as administrator and others had bad sectors on the hard drive.

Lets do a test on the memory. Grab this tester
http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/Memory-Tweak/Microsoft-Windows-Memory-Diagnostic.shtml

It will burn a iso to a cd and you boot off the cd and have it test. The test never ends, so just let it complete a loop once or twice to see if you get any errors or not :wink:

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #29 on: April 21, 2014, 05:01:10 pm »
My CD is not work so I could not make a working copy of your memtest. I used MEMTEST86+, it make USB flash bootable. I ran the test over night with out any errors.

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #30 on: April 22, 2014, 10:40:17 am »
OK good we can mark memory off the list :-)

Ok so WMI is failing and you had other problems. When you try to do a repair install Windows setup fails.

I had you check the memory and it was good, did I have you do a bad sector check on the drive yet?

Where you open a cmd.exe as adminstrator and then put in
chkdsk C: /f /r

hit enter and it will say the drive is in use would you like to schedule it, hit Y

then when you reboot it should do a very long chkdsk on the system since it will test every sector on the drive.

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #31 on: April 22, 2014, 10:49:11 am »
I tried your check disk but an error, Please see the attached screen shot. I don't know how make me the adm.

Offline parkd1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #32 on: April 22, 2014, 10:57:51 am »
Do a right click on Command Prompt then you will see a menu pop up and you will see run as administrator.

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #33 on: April 22, 2014, 11:16:08 am »
Correct, right before you open cmd.exe in the start menu right click on it and choose run as administrator :-)

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #34 on: April 22, 2014, 03:53:22 pm »
OK I got it to run. I do not think if there was any errors, I did not see the last test because it restarted before I could read it. It did cuase some thing because I got the blue screen of death, with a message of "contact your tec support or adm for fewer assistance" It does not reboot and I cycle the power to reboot. What does this message mean  :sad: Before when the blue screen came up it would do a dump to log file (I think) then reboot.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 04:13:42 pm by RocketNut »

Offline scarsxp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 1
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #35 on: April 23, 2014, 02:52:18 am »
OK I got it to run. I do not think if there was any errors, I did not see the last test because it restarted before I could read it. It did cuase some thing because I got the blue screen of death, with a message of "contact your tec support or adm for fewer assistance" It does not reboot and I cycle the power to reboot. What does this message mean  :sad: Before when the blue screen came up it would do a dump to log file (I think) then reboot.

You mean you can't get into the operating system now? When and at one point do you get the blue screen? Just after the chkdsk test? Or at the windows loading screen.  And If you can't get into the OS,  try F8 before the operating system loads, to get into safe mode.


Then you could Try this program to view the dump file:
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html

And show us what the message said.

But you might want to run the manufacture's diagnostics on the hard drive. Preferably on a boot up disc. And run the Short SMART test, then the long one. 

And if you don't know the hard drive brand you use, you can either open the computer up and look at the serial/model number. Look it up on google. Or go into the bios and look to see what kind it is. Or Device Manager on Operating system or under My Computer - Right click drive properties
« Last Edit: April 23, 2014, 02:59:07 am by scarsxp »

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #36 on: April 23, 2014, 09:01:36 am »
Looks like bad sectors where found on the drive after all. When chkdsk tried to pull the data off the bad sectors something must have gone wrong.

Are you able to boot into safe mode at all?

The bad sectors on the drive would explain all the problems you have been having. If it really is bad sectors then it is time to get a new drive.

Shane

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #37 on: April 23, 2014, 02:17:55 pm »
Shane:
J tried to PM you this message but it said I was blocked (understandable)
Is there any way you could send the  Windows 7 Home Prem. OS install on a bootable USB Drive. I am using a friends machine to send you this message. Shabe please PM me so I can give my phone number about the price and my address.  Right my machine OS will not start. The resone I need it on a flash drive instead of a CD is my CD is not working at all.
RocketNut
« Last Edit: April 23, 2014, 02:26:28 pm by RocketNut »

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #38 on: April 23, 2014, 03:07:26 pm »
I have PM disabled to me for everyone, it isnt just you :-)

I do that because dozens of people would PM me weekly instead of posting in the forums for help, so I had to disable it :-)

My email is shane at tweaking.com

I am in Oregon so not sure what time zone you are in :-)

But the Windows on usb wont do you any good, you already have it. The program is a bad hard drive and is why it kept failing. You need a new drive, do not wipe the current one because you can still recover some of your data off of it :wink:

Then once you have the new drive installed you can use the USB Windows you made and install fresh :-)

Shane

Offline parkd1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #39 on: April 24, 2014, 11:23:03 am »
I am in Oregon so not sure what time zone you are in :-)

Oh wow you live in Oregon. Way cool. I live in Oregon too. :smiley:

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #40 on: April 24, 2014, 11:47:11 am »
LOL I am in Medford :-)

Shane

Offline parkd1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: 7
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #41 on: April 24, 2014, 12:37:46 pm »
I am in Turner. Just out side of Salem. :smiley:

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 35
  • Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, Earth, SOL, Milky Way
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #42 on: April 24, 2014, 02:29:31 pm »
We are almost I'm in Salt Lake City Utah.  :cheesy:

You not accepting PM is very understanding :smiley:

I used the USB to do a back up, meaning I don't have the ISO any more. Because I was going to do a clean reinstall, that's when bottom fell out. As for my hard drive I will go ahead and replace it. I am also going to replace the memory just to be on the safe side.

Offline Shane

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9281
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 137
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
Re: WMI Repair Tool
« Reply #43 on: April 24, 2014, 02:39:11 pm »
Good :-)

Once you get a new drive things should go much smoother for you :-)

Shane