Author Topic: Sys Restore & other problems after running Windows Repair Tool v3.9.23 on Vista.  (Read 22049 times)

Offline Pepo

• View Profile
Hi everyone,
I'm a Newbie, so this is my first post here.
Like many other Vista users, I'm having continual Updating problems since mid last year, and much longer, that just can't be fixed by following many suggestions in Forums like this one.
Believe me I tried many!

I recently found this great 'Windows Repair' tool Version 3.9.23 which I believe was created by Shane?
So I ran the program twice following all directions and recommendations to the letter.
Some stages took a while as to be expected, however when finished, I unfortunately found that Windows Update was 'not' repaired!

But to make matters worse Windows Defender only ran once and then wouldn't work also.
It only starts for a split second and freezes at stopping with an error- 'Win32: The executable program that this service is configured to run in does not implement the service.' This message comes up immediately,  when I get into Services via Control Panel> Click Properties> Click Dependencies.
It's status seems to get stuck on Stopping for ages, even until I have to reboot!

System Restore which was working perfectly previously, is also not working after the Windows Repair tool v3.9.23 I keep getting an error that the task image is corrupted or tampered with.  Error code 0x800401321.
All but 1 of my restore points were missing! I only had the 1 I created b4 using Window Repair v3.9.23
which was corrupted.
I even tried using the Registry Backup facility in the tool, but that didn't work properly either???

I found it was a problem with corrupted settings in Tasks Scheduler which I eventually fixed by running Repair Tasks v3.3.5805.21123.

Yesterday, I even updated The Windows Repair tool to v3.9.24, then ran it twice again without skipping anything again but ended with the same problems as before as outlined above!