Author Topic: cannot connect to Microsoft update, Microsoft Security Engine (Solved)  (Read 27678 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
I would like to reset all the functions; please advise

While running Adobe;
under the help menu, check for updates, can not connect to server

Message Alert; Update Failed!

Many manufacturers distributed images with a policy set defining a automatic update server. The concise answer to this problem is to remove that registry key. The key is:

I found this might be the route cause;
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/918355 run the fixit, see if it helps you

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate\AU
remove this key, reboot, and windows update will work.

http://theitbros.com/how-to-solve-the-windows-update-error-80072ee2/

how to add ; http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/windows-update-error-80072ee2#1TC=windows-vista

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-windows_update/how-to-add-outbound-rule-in-windows-firewall-to/7f9c04c1-5216-47d9-9de3-64cc19eb796d

reset firewall settings ;
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/answers?tId=d5bf7d36-cca6-4767-9e67-0e2a1bb28042
« Last Edit: March 19, 2015, 04:07:08 PM by Rick »

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2015, 11:01:48 PM »
I would like to reset all the functions; please advise

* your computer was unable to check for solutions

***** SOLUTION *****

March 3rd 2015; OK, here is the Solution and what I finally did that worked

* if this fix worked for you; please donate $1.00 to my pay pal account
rick.mccoy@baymedicalcompany.cn

Run In Administrator Mode Only...
I Run It In Safe Mode with Networking support.

After run It, Run Windows Update Immediately
Try Re-Install Some of your Programs to clean up the update settings with those programs after run this Fix

« Last Edit: March 03, 2015, 06:39:09 AM by Rick »

Offline Gamezertruth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1143
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Gamezertruth
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2015, 11:13:27 PM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/ 
« Last Edit: February 09, 2015, 11:20:03 PM by Gamezertruth »

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2015, 11:48:19 PM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

Hosts File looks pretty normal too me;

# Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

127.0.0.1       localhost
127.0.0.1       investorshub.advfn.com
127.0.0.1       finance.yahoo.com
127.0.0.1       google.com/finance
127.0.0.1       money.msn.com/investing
127.0.0.1       http://money.msn.com/investing/
127.0.0.1       http://investing.money.msn.com/
127.0.0.1       ckmap.mediav.com
127.0.0.1       pv.sohu.com
127.0.0.1       www.zhibo8.cc
127.0.0.1       www.0086best.com
127.0.0.1       show.g.mediav.com

Offline Gamezertruth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1143
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Gamezertruth
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2015, 12:48:09 AM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

Hosts File looks pretty normal too me;

# Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

127.0.0.1       localhost
127.0.0.1       investorshub.advfn.com
127.0.0.1       finance.yahoo.com
127.0.0.1       google.com/finance
127.0.0.1       money.msn.com/investing
127.0.0.1       http://money.msn.com/investing/
127.0.0.1       http://investing.money.msn.com/
127.0.0.1       ckmap.mediav.com
127.0.0.1       pv.sohu.com
127.0.0.1       www.zhibo8.cc
127.0.0.1       www.0086best.com
127.0.0.1       show.g.mediav.com

I think that the entries of the host file is not okay! you Have extra host entries that Have been hijacked ?

i just check that host and they linked to some of Chinese sites i think  :smiley: and do you have run sfc/scannow ?

should you check this with hijackthis tool http://sourceforge.net/projects/hjt/
« Last Edit: February 10, 2015, 12:51:54 AM by Gamezertruth »

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10005
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2015, 02:43:18 AM »
If you didn't add those entries to the Hosts File I would be inclined to reset it https://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034

If that doesn't fix your problem are you able to connect in Safe Mode with Networking ?

Using your restore points to prior the problem may do it but running the commands below from a command prompt run as an administrator can also help.

If your restore points are missing, that could be indicative of an infection and if you get the message the restore was unsuccessful, doing the restore in Safe Mode can be a workaround to that as it was probably your AV program interfering with the restore.

Create a restore point first if you're going to use ComboFix as it snagged a file which I allowed it to delete and it upset my system - I don't trust it.

netsh winsock reset

netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt

ipconfig /release

ipconfig /flushdns

ipconfig /renew


ipconfig /registerdns

exit (to close command window)

Now reboot.

Checking the Event Viewer for related errors could also give some info as to why this occurred could help if it's been a Windows problem.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2015, 02:53:28 AM by Boggin »
Tom.

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2015, 02:25:46 PM »
Can you post a screen shot of the actual error you are getting so I can see it?

Shane

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2015, 11:05:49 AM »
Can you post a screen shot of the actual error you are getting so I can see it?

Shane

One, I added those websites to block Wall Street and Asian hackers!

Shane; message was a pop up window in a gray box, read;

Unable to connect to MSFT server
your computer was unable to check for solutions

* seems the latest MSFT fixes repaired it


Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2015, 11:14:36 AM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

Hosts File looks pretty normal too me;

# Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

127.0.0.1       localhost
127.0.0.1       investorshub.advfn.com
127.0.0.1       finance.yahoo.com
127.0.0.1       google.com/finance
127.0.0.1       money.msn.com/investing
127.0.0.1       http://money.msn.com/investing/
127.0.0.1       http://investing.money.msn.com/
127.0.0.1       ckmap.mediav.com
127.0.0.1       pv.sohu.com
127.0.0.1       www.zhibo8.cc
127.0.0.1       www.0086best.com
127.0.0.1       show.g.mediav.com

I think that the entries of the host file is not okay! you Have extra host entries that Have been hijacked ?

i just check that host and they linked to some of Chinese sites i think  :smiley: and do you have run sfc/scannow ?

should you check this with hijackthis tool http://sourceforge.net/projects/hjt/

* * * * * yes hijack this is a very useful tool...

SFC is getting to be a useless tool as code can be entered to divert the system tool;
Only way correct this issue is to connect directly with the MSFT servers.

I added those websites in the hosts file; adding sites in the hosts file prevents my system to connect with those sites.

your reference was ran and it did find some issues that were resolved; this program should be run with hijack this;
Give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/ 

and no, I wont delete the hosts file entries, I put them their for a reason. none of them refer to the MSFT servers...

thank you for your references!

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2015, 11:20:17 AM »
If you didn't add those entries to the Hosts File I would be inclined to reset it https://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034

If that doesn't fix your problem are you able to connect in Safe Mode with Networking ?

Using your restore points to prior the problem may do it but running the commands below from a command prompt run as an administrator can also help.

If your restore points are missing, that could be indicative of an infection and if you get the message the restore was unsuccessful, doing the restore in Safe Mode can be a workaround to that as it was probably your AV program interfering with the restore.

Create a restore point first if you're going to use ComboFix as it snagged a file which I allowed it to delete and it upset my system - I don't trust it.

netsh winsock reset

netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt

ipconfig /release

ipconfig /flushdns

ipconfig /renew


ipconfig /registerdns

exit (to close command window)

Now reboot.

Checking the Event Viewer for related errors could also give some info as to why this occurred could help if it's been a Windows problem.

In this case; the Restore older restore points was unable to restore anything older than one day.
it seemed as though they had been deleted, dear MSFT; please fix your software from this error, we could/should be able to run an undelete program to recapture old restore points.

= idea in planning * Cloud back restore points using network in safe mode anyone?

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10005
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2015, 01:39:10 PM »
For a while I had problems connecting to MS's support site for resetting Windows Update Components and initially there was a red warning that they were having problems with their servers, but the problem continued intermittently after the warning disappeared.

I'm not sure how it fixed itself but if you could post the link you are having problems with, perhaps we could try it.
Tom.

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2015, 12:50:43 AM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

I also use 360; it is suggested to 360 DO NOT MESS with our restore points...
or we will BLACK LIST YOU IN THE MARKET...

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2015, 07:36:26 AM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

I also use 360; it is suggested to 360 DO NOT MESS with our restore points...
or we will BLACK LIST YOU IN THE MARKET...

Ran the Rogue Killer; it found some issues. here is what is left over;


Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2015, 07:43:29 AM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

I also use 360; it is suggested to 360 DO NOT MESS with our restore points...
or we will BLACK LIST YOU IN THE MARKET...

Ran the Rogue Killer; it found some issues. here is what is left over;

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2015, 07:44:28 AM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

I also use 360; it is suggested to 360 DO NOT MESS with our restore points...
or we will BLACK LIST YOU IN THE MARKET...

Ran the Rogue Killer; it found some issues. here is what is left over;
Attached the freefixer scan for reference;

Offline Gamezertruth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1143
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Gamezertruth
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #15 on: February 12, 2015, 05:01:19 PM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

I also use 360; it is suggested to 360 DO NOT MESS with our restore points...
or we will BLACK LIST YOU IN THE MARKET...

360 Internet Security isn’t a good product so why you have to install it ?  Check it out by following the instructions here http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/combofix/how-to-use-combofix

your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

Hosts File looks pretty normal too me;

# Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

127.0.0.1       localhost
127.0.0.1       investorshub.advfn.com
127.0.0.1       finance.yahoo.com
127.0.0.1       google.com/finance
127.0.0.1       money.msn.com/investing
127.0.0.1       http://money.msn.com/investing/
127.0.0.1       http://investing.money.msn.com/
127.0.0.1       ckmap.mediav.com
127.0.0.1       pv.sohu.com
127.0.0.1       www.zhibo8.cc
127.0.0.1       www.0086best.com
127.0.0.1       show.g.mediav.com

I think that the entries of the host file is not okay! you Have extra host entries that Have been hijacked ?

i just check that host and they linked to some of Chinese sites i think  :smiley: and do you have run sfc/scannow ?

should you check this with hijackthis tool http://sourceforge.net/projects/hjt/

* * * * * yes hijack this is a very useful tool...

SFC is getting to be a useless tool as code can be entered to divert the system tool;
Only way correct this issue is to connect directly with the MSFT servers.

I added those websites in the hosts file; adding sites in the hosts file prevents my system to connect with those sites.

your reference was ran and it did find some issues that were resolved; this program should be run with hijack this;
Give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/ 

and no, I wont delete the hosts file entries, I put them their for a reason. none of them refer to the MSFT servers...

thank you for your references!

thank for your info and an antivirus or anti-malware program should Protects you from such sites and I'll leave this for Shane and Boggin to review it for you

your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

I also use 360; it is suggested to 360 DO NOT MESS with our restore points...
or we will BLACK LIST YOU IN THE MARKET...

Ran the Rogue Killer; it found some issues. here is what is left over;

i noted that you have some Unknown driver as shown in your screenshot and you should go to let the RogueKiller Developer know whether it was a false positive http://forum.adlice.com/index.php?action=forum and for freefixed log file i can’t read it so I'll leave this for Shane and Boggin to review it for you

« Last Edit: February 12, 2015, 05:03:39 PM by Gamezertruth »

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #16 on: February 13, 2015, 08:19:45 PM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

I also use 360; it is suggested to 360 DO NOT MESS with our restore points...
or we will BLACK LIST YOU IN THE MARKET...

Ran the Rogue Killer; it found some issues. here is what is left over;

Note ;  Free fixer error codes references to help resolve actual system problems.
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms681382(v=vs.85).aspx
f

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #17 on: February 13, 2015, 11:52:43 PM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

Have run rogue killer; two issues
it catches my drop down menus as a virus or problem area
It does not recognize 360


Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #18 on: February 14, 2015, 05:32:06 AM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

Have run rogue killer; two issues
it catches my drop down menus as a virus or problem area
It does not recognize 360
one error i see with rogue killer, it does not scan any other drive than C:\  "any bleeping hacker that knows that could easily hide behind rogue killer"

next, I will attempt to run combo fix...

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #19 on: February 14, 2015, 05:54:49 AM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

Have run rogue killer; two issues
it catches my drop down menus as a virus or problem area
It does not recognize 360
one error i see with rogue killer, it does not scan any other drive than C:\  "any bleeping hacker that knows that could easily hide behind rogue killer"

next, I will attempt to run combo fix...

additional scans;     


Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #20 on: February 14, 2015, 06:54:08 AM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

Have run rogue killer; two issues
it catches my drop down menus as a virus or problem area
It does not recognize 360
one error i see with rogue killer, it does not scan any other drive than C:\  "any bleeping hacker that knows that could easily hide behind rogue killer"

next, I will attempt to run combo fix...

additional scans;   

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #21 on: February 14, 2015, 07:01:55 AM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

Have run rogue killer; two issues
it catches my drop down menus as a virus or problem area
It does not recognize 360
one error i see with rogue killer, it does not scan any other drive than C:\  "any bleeping hacker that knows that could easily hide behind rogue killer"

next, I will attempt to run combo fix...

additional scans;   

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #22 on: February 14, 2015, 07:18:30 AM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

Have run rogue killer; two issues
it catches my drop down menus as a virus or problem area
It does not recognize 360
one error i see with rogue killer, it does not scan any other drive than C:\  "any bleeping hacker that knows that could easily hide behind rogue killer"

next, I will attempt to run combo fix...

additional scans;   

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #23 on: February 14, 2015, 07:50:21 AM »
your Computer may be infected ! or host file got malware did you run a malware scan ? give this a try http://www.adlice.com/softwares/roguekiller/  :smiley: and make sure you clear the host file after RogueKiller done the scan !

if RogueKiller doesn't fix your problem then give combofix a try http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/combofix/

Have run rogue killer; two issues
it catches my drop down menus as a virus or problem area
It does not recognize 360
one error i see with rogue killer, it does not scan any other drive than C:\  "any bleeping hacker that knows that could easily hide behind rogue killer"

next, I will attempt to run combo fix...

additional scans;   

Offline Shane

  • Lead Developer - Coder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 9279
  • Location: USA
  • Karma: 138
  • "Knowledge should be shared not hidden."
    • View Profile
    • Tweaking.com
Re: cannot connect to microsoft support server
« Reply #24 on: February 16, 2015, 03:21:08 PM »
Combofix did find and cleanup some things, how is the system now after all those scans?

Shane