Author Topic: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically  (Read 35944 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 915
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #25 on: June 11, 2015, 06:02:56 AM »
I would advise you choosing these kind of search engines. They will spam and would be a nuisance PUP to get rid of . Did not you hear babylon tool, mysearch engine, which forcibly dent to your registry and it would be difficult to get rid off totally. In registry, you have to find atleast 49 items to kill the processes. That too , it will be found in different names. Pl beware of suspicious search engines. Pl use only google . It has capacity to find anything. Google has also has voice search engines.

It IS using Google. It is a website, no install, no spam, no PUP, no registry entries.

http://lmgtfy.com/

If anything Google is dangerous, spying, tracking and collecting data, personally I use https://duckduckgo.com/ as my default, but hey ho! Others are available.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2015, 06:06:10 AM by Samson »

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #26 on: June 11, 2015, 06:37:17 AM »
Hi, Samson, if i click the link a new search engine probably a browser hijacker site is redirecting google

No it is n't. It is "Let Me Google That For You". I was trying to let Rick know that Google is your friend  :wink:

No, I dont think google is my friend, google play services for example keep getting outdated and other services like majic jack that depend on google will not work properly...
just my experience MAJIC JACK, hope you fix that, why you need google maintain your subscribers anyway?

Offline Gamezertruth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1143
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Gamezertruth
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #27 on: June 11, 2015, 06:40:40 AM »
I would advise you choosing these kind of search engines. They will spam and would be a nuisance PUP to get rid of . Did not you hear babylon tool, mysearch engine, which forcibly dent to your registry and it would be difficult to get rid off totally. In registry, you have to find atleast 49 items to kill the processes. That too , it will be found in different names. Pl beware of suspicious search engines. Pl use only google . It has capacity to find anything. Google has also has voice search engines.

It IS using Google. It is a website, no install, no spam, no PUP, no registry entries.

http://lmgtfy.com/

If anything Google is dangerous, spying, tracking and collecting data, personally I use https://duckduckgo.com/ as my default, but hey ho! Others are available.

duckduckgo-com is browser hijacker http://www.rescuemybrowser.com/duckduckgo-com-virus-removal

Offline jraju

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 2315
  • Location: india
  • Karma: 17
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #28 on: June 11, 2015, 06:48:18 AM »
even i suspect the link. It is not google regular. Some take suggestions and other do not. Let them experience the PUP and then they will decide.
                              Even genuine search engines and downloads inject custom tool bar etc while installing. What to tell suggesting suspicious websites , and using the same and telling others that it is not . Just type and you get what you want in regular google. I promise that there is no search engine like google because of its wide range of supports.
The Bottom line is "Check your hardware first if it supports the task you try".

Offline Gamezertruth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1143
  • Karma: 4
    • View Profile
    • Gamezertruth
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #29 on: June 11, 2015, 06:55:37 AM »
what may we don’t know is google is spying on us so don’t use google software anymore

here a great software Against Google https://www.abelssoft.net/apps/googleclean/

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 915
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #30 on: June 11, 2015, 07:16:32 AM »
Beginning to wish I had not started this  :shocked:

@ Gamez, Duck Duck Go is NOT a virus. Given your history, would you recognise one anyway?

@Jraju, "let Me Google That For You" is NOT a search engine, it is a website that generates a link to a short video for a Google search, for those either too lazy or incapable of using Google themselves to search.

@ Both, Google is working for "The Man", tracking, spying etc.

Topic has gone way off The OP's problem. If you wish to debate the merits or otherwise of LMGTFY or DDG, then open a new thread and I will be happy to debate with you there  :wink:

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Julian

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #32 on: June 12, 2015, 08:49:31 AM »
is there some way can run a program to determine the right power supply should has?

http://bfy.tw/Gj0

found this one, but it is more complicated than checking my internal hardware already

http://extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine


Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 915
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #33 on: June 12, 2015, 09:06:23 AM »
How about some of the others on that list that I provided In the LMGTFY link?
Like.....

http://www.coolermaster.outervision.com/
http://powersupplycalculator.net/
http://images10.newegg.com/BizIntell/tool/psucalc/index.html?name=Power-Supply-Wattage-Calculator

Some look a bit simpler, as to accuracy? Well that's anyones' guess.


Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10160
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #34 on: June 12, 2015, 09:28:23 AM »
The free version of HWMonitor will tell you the voltages the computer is using but I'm not competent to tell you if yours are correct.

The values are dynamic so you could leave it running to monitor if there's a drop from when it's running normal.

Post a Snip and someone should know if your values are about where they should be.

http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html - the download link is in the lower left pane.

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #35 on: June 12, 2015, 05:32:40 PM »
How about some of the others on that list that I provided In the LMGTFY link?
Like.....

http://www.coolermaster.outervision.com/
http://powersupplycalculator.net/
http://images10.newegg.com/BizIntell/tool/psucalc/index.html?name=Power-Supply-Wattage-Calculator

Some look a bit simpler, as to accuracy? Well that's anyones' guess.
thanks everyone for your replies, seems we need a 520watt power supply, what have now, who knows, next step is to look...

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #36 on: June 14, 2015, 01:59:29 AM »
I agree with Samson. Maybe drivers or a dying cpu.
Here is a useful program I use for drivers http://m.download.cnet.com/Driver-Booster-2/3000-18513_4-75992725.html
And hw monitor
http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html
Edit: hw monitor for watching power levels but an actual meter is better  :wink: http://m.newegg.com/Product/index?itemnumber=N82E16899261023

bought a new PSU last year, added a power supply last year too.

Have you tried?
 http://www.drivethelife.com/

I don't want buy driver booster

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 915
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #37 on: June 14, 2015, 02:04:33 AM »
Have you tried?
 http://www.drivethelife.com/

I don't want buy driver booster

I would n't recommend third party driver software, It is always best to get them from the hardware manufactrer's site.

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #38 on: June 14, 2015, 02:37:35 AM »
I have added this event to this category as it may help us to find the route cause...

So far, leaving the HP printer off has had no reset Bios Event.

for reference; my PSU is only operating at 240w

I will remove the DVD, DVD draw power even if not in use right?

I had upgraded my hard drive after last failure to a T, one would be wise to note to increase their wattage until we can make them more energy efficient too PSU 440w or higher for stable system operations

-


Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #39 on: June 14, 2015, 03:19:02 PM »
Quote
I don't want buy driver booster
Buy??? I got the free version :D
Julian

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #40 on: June 14, 2015, 06:55:32 PM »
Th Fun Continues : just happened again...

Checked Firwall settings
Removed, re-installed MSE and doing FS now.
Modified Bios setting to S3
« Last Edit: June 15, 2015, 01:43:49 AM by Rick »

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #41 on: July 04, 2015, 10:29:40 AM »
The Fun Continues;

Sometimes, when in sleep mode or hybernation, it wont wake up when I click the mouse or keyboard...

I disabled the DVD, unplugged the old hard drive no in use to conserve all the power possible.
Set Bios to SV3 as suggested

I will run out to buy a new power supply with twice as many watts or server quality...

Happy 2015 4th of July

How to reset Sleep Mode and Hibernation modes to  default settings?

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #42 on: July 04, 2015, 12:42:36 PM »
How to reset Sleep Mode and Hibernation modes to  default settings?
powercfg -restoredefaultschemes
Julian

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10160
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #43 on: July 04, 2015, 12:55:02 PM »
Do you really need Hybernate - I have it turned off on my laptops with the elevated cmd powercfg -h off and that freed up about 6GB on the HDDs.

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #44 on: July 04, 2015, 09:42:10 PM »
Do you really need Hybernate - I have it turned off on my laptops with the elevated cmd powercfg -h off and that freed up about 6GB on the HDDs.
If you want hybrid sleep then unfortunatly yes you need hibernate... 
hybrid sleep is awesome It will knock the computer almost out cold and if you lose power it will turn on as if it was hibernating unlike the old sleep where if it lost power the ram is gone.
Julian

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #45 on: July 06, 2015, 05:37:13 AM »
Do you really need Hybernate - I have it turned off on my laptops with the elevated cmd powercfg -h off and that freed up about 6GB on the HDDs.
If you want hybrid sleep then unfortunatly yes you need hibernate... 
hybrid sleep is awesome It will knock the computer almost out cold and if you lose power it will turn on as if it was hibernating unlike the old sleep where if it lost power the ram is gone.

were talking abt desktop in this thread

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 915
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #46 on: July 06, 2015, 09:20:08 AM »
Do you really need Hybernate - I have it turned off on my laptops with the elevated cmd powercfg -h off and that freed up about 6GB on the HDDs.
If you want hybrid sleep then unfortunatly yes you need hibernate... 
hybrid sleep is awesome It will knock the computer almost out cold and if you lose power it will turn on as if it was hibernating unlike the old sleep where if it lost power the ram is gone.

were talking abt desktop in this thread

Same applies to both laptops and desktops. As Boggin has said, saves GBs. I have it turned off on desktops too.

Offline Julian

  • "Professional Googler"
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 1325
  • Location: USA, New Mexico
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #47 on: July 06, 2015, 10:07:53 AM »
okay so what i've said earlier if you want to use hybrid sleep you must have hibernate on if you want to use old school sleep you take of hibernate what happens is if you computer is in sleep mode and the hibernate is off and you lose power to your tower everything would not be saved it would be like an inproper shutdown. now if you had hybrid sleep enabled meaning you have to have hibernate enabled as well. if would put your computer to sleep like the other sleep mode does but if the tower loses power it will reboot as if it was hibernating so it won't have an improper shutdown. so pick your choice do you want to save the gb space or do you want the extra file protection if you lost power.
Julian

Offline Samson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 915
  • Location: London
  • Karma: 38
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #48 on: July 06, 2015, 10:36:45 AM »
okay so what i've said earlier if you want to use hybrid sleep you must have hibernate on if you want to use old school sleep you take of hibernate what happens is if you computer is in sleep mode and the hibernate is off and you lose power to your tower everything would not be saved it would be like an inproper shutdown. now if you had hybrid sleep enabled meaning you have to have hibernate enabled as well. if would put your computer to sleep like the other sleep mode does but if the tower loses power it will reboot as if it was hibernating so it won't have an improper shutdown. so pick your choice do you want to save the gb space or do you want the extra file protection if you lost power.

Thanks, concise explanation.

edit: I am assuming that the HDD space "saved" by turning off hibernate is equal to the amount of RAM on the machine? Is that correct?
« Last Edit: July 06, 2015, 11:30:07 AM by Samson »

Offline Rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 829
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: New Virus - Computer Bios Resets Automatically
« Reply #49 on: July 06, 2015, 12:54:55 PM »
okay so what i've said earlier if you want to use hybrid sleep you must have hibernate on if you want to use old school sleep you take of hibernate what happens is if you computer is in sleep mode and the hibernate is off and you lose power to your tower everything would not be saved it would be like an inproper shutdown. now if you had hybrid sleep enabled meaning you have to have hibernate enabled as well. if would put your computer to sleep like the other sleep mode does but if the tower loses power it will reboot as if it was hibernating so it won't have an improper shutdown. so pick your choice do you want to save the gb space or do you want the extra file protection if you lost power.

Thanks, concise explanation.

edit: I am assuming that the HDD space "saved" by turning off hibernate is equal to the amount of RAM on the machine? Is that correct?

Well, just happened again...
Had Word open, had print a file and run outside, by the time I get back, it happens again...
also had to restore too

No doubt, its a virus, or back door hacker....