Author Topic: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7  (Read 115813 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #101 on: April 02, 2016, 08:14:15 am »
That's the same link that Willy2 has posted in http://www.tweaking.com/forums/index.php/topic,4355.0.html

You can give it a try but if unsuccessful, just PM me your address and I'll send you a couple of Win 7 SP1 install disks - just need to know if you are using 32 or 64 bit versions.

While there is a method to change the product key to your COA sticker key which may/not work following a repair install, there's no point in trying to repair your install while you have a failing HDD.


Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #102 on: April 02, 2016, 08:50:34 am »
It is 64bit and I tried to download from that site and when you click on the appropriate download link they ask for a program code and I have no code. If you would send me the install disks I will send you an Interact e- money transfer for whatever it costs, I don't expect you to be out of pocket to help me.

My wife's computer is a Dell Inspiron 1764, 64-bit, 4.00 GB usable and she is running  Windows 7 Home Premium same as me and I did a full back-up to DVD and system repair disc.

Thanks Tom for everything, you are a good Man.
Pete

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #103 on: April 02, 2016, 09:27:38 am »
I'll give you the details in a PM.

Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #104 on: April 02, 2016, 09:37:49 am »
I assume you mean Private message?

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #105 on: April 02, 2016, 09:47:17 am »
Yes, you should see the notification to read your messages - I've just sent it.

Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #106 on: April 02, 2016, 10:04:56 am »
Yes I saw it and replied

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #107 on: April 02, 2016, 10:23:12 am »
Likewise :D

Anyway, I'm off now for my tea meal.

Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #108 on: April 04, 2016, 04:09:30 am »
Quick question: The wireless Modem is hooked up through a USB port to my computer, "the crashed" computer, once I re-load windows and loose all original programs and files will I loose my internet connection or are the settings within the modem itself so my wife's computer will remain connected. Sorry for the dumb questions.
Have a great day
Pete

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #109 on: April 04, 2016, 05:14:50 am »
Are you using an USB wireless dongle for your Internet and is your wife's machine sharing the connection ?

If that's the case then you could plug that into your wife's machine while the problematic computer is out of action.

Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #110 on: April 04, 2016, 05:53:46 am »
Not sure what a dongle is. It's just a phone line into Modem and a USB from out Modem and in Compute.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #111 on: April 04, 2016, 05:59:08 am »
The cables from modems or routers usually connect to an Ethernet (RJ45) port on the computer which is different to an USB port.

When you say "modem" - is this an all in one modem router which also broadcasts a wireless signal ?

Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #112 on: April 04, 2016, 06:39:39 am »
My previous modem didn't require USB connection however this modem has that USB connection.
The name of the modem is (Sagemcom) F@ST 2704N routers 1 and the manual says adapts the ADSL function respectively on POTS (ITU G992.1/3/5- Appendix A and on ISDN (ITU G992. 1/3/5/ - appendix B
F@ST 2704N equipment include 4 ethernet interfaces LAN1 to  LAN4 1 ADSL interface and ne USD port.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #113 on: April 04, 2016, 07:27:51 am »
That's a wireless router - so why do you need to connect with a cable on a laptop when they usually have wireless capability ?

Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #114 on: April 04, 2016, 08:11:13 am »
 Maybe I don't I will check and see back to you soon

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #115 on: April 04, 2016, 08:17:46 am »
If your wife isn't wired up then she must be connecting wirlessly.

Open a cmd prompt on her machine and enter ipconfig /all

It should produce something like mine where I just use wifi -

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

   Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . :
   Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
   Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
   IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
   WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8188CE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-DE-2B-B1-B9-F7
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 04 April 2016 11:57:05
   Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 05 April 2016 11:57:05
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
                                       8.8.4.4
   Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : DC-0E-A1-35-68-E1
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{BDC217FE-A8D7-49A3-AE02-B813C4646E3E}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Windows\system32>

Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #116 on: April 04, 2016, 08:36:15 am »
I sent you a reply before you did this message up and I was using the tablet and I guess it didn't post. I went to my computer, pulled the USB cable, went back to the wife's and it is working perfectly, I have no idea why I was using a USB cable other than I must be very stupid, a medication thing I doubt,  or just back from a medical thing, I honestly don't remember. Sorry to have you spend your time because seemingly I'm not to bright.
Thanks, I won't bother you unless it is a dire straight thing.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #117 on: April 04, 2016, 08:40:25 am »
 :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy:

It isn't a problem - if you don't ask then you don't learn so don't be afraid to ask.

Those were some wise words from my recruitment sergeant that I never forgot.

Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #118 on: April 04, 2016, 09:05:41 am »
Thanks my friend!!!!!!  :smiley: :smiley: :wink: :wink:

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #119 on: April 04, 2016, 09:08:22 am »
BTW - Mailed this morning.

Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #120 on: April 04, 2016, 09:23:53 am »
You are a scholar and a gentleman.
Thanks once again Tom
Pete :smiley:

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #121 on: April 04, 2016, 09:29:12 am »
Have you decided what you are going to do with the problematic machine yet ?

Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #122 on: April 04, 2016, 10:06:17 am »
No, but I think I will just reload windows when the discs arrive, would you not agree? Be back in a couple of hrs. just heading out with the wife for a lunch.

Offline Boggin

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 10182
  • Location: UK
  • Karma: 122
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #123 on: April 04, 2016, 02:01:53 pm »
There's no point in installing anything onto a failing HDD.

Do another chkdsk c: /r and see if the KBs in bad sectors has increased - it was at 32 the last time which had increased from 24.

Offline munchie2222

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: NEED HELP wINDOWS 7
« Reply #124 on: April 05, 2016, 03:44:21 am »
Sorry it took me so long to get back to and yes I will do another chkdsk and then whatever you suggest. I wish I could do a back-up but when I tried before it recognised the DVD drive but wouldn't back-up. Is there a way I can get into the repair menu with the option to back-up. Will the discs your are sending me have all the programs that were on the computer when I purchased it?
Talk at you later